Search Results: "Cynthia Grady"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 15, 2012

"A powerful grouping of thought-provoking poems and brilliantly designed paintings. (author's note, illustrator's note, bibliography) (Poetry. 10 & up)"
Enslaved African-Americans voice the weariness, drudgery, agony and dreams of their lives in a beautiful and informative collection of poetry and paintings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIKE A BIRD by Cynthia Grady
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"An important work that gives new life to old and important songs. (Informational picture book. 5-10)"
When children see Harriet Tubman on the new U.S. postage stamp, they can learn of her legacy from this literary homage to "the Moses of her people." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 2006

"An unusual take on American history and colonial experience, Klein's first graphic novel, while aspirant, may not hold wide audience appeal. (Graphic novel. YA)"
In this brightly colored and busily illustrated graphic novel, Klein introduces young Bertha "Birdy" Snodgrass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2006

"They will also leave readers profoundly affected by not only the dangers of these often-unpredictable potential pandemics, but by the complex challenges facing medical professionals who fight to understand and contain them. (source notes, Internet resources, further reading) (Nonfiction. 11-13)"
Grady, author of a number of New York Times articles on the topic, describes in personal, sometimes-heartrending detail her 2005 visit to Angola to cover the outbreak of Marburg fever there. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVER OF DARKNESS by James Grady
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 16, 1991

"A brooding, ambitious, and rather long wrap-up of everything awful in the American spy business."
The secret war in Laos, the Kurds, the cold war, the drug war, Watergate, and Iran-contra are among the submerged stumps and sand bars here through which paddle sundry good and evil employees of the American intelligence industry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST COLONY: BOOK 3 by Grady Klein
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Visually engaging, but otherwise an utter mess."
An absurdly whimsical graphic novel devised with more style than substance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITE FLAME by James Grady
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 1996

"Grady has created a protagonist who lingers in the mind long after the last shot is fired. (Film rights to Tristar; $200,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
By the author of River of Darkness (1991), among several others, a so-so Washington thriller whose best scenes, though, rise to memorable heights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BEST FRIEND'S EXORCISM by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 17, 2016

"Certainly not for all readers, but anyone interested in seeing William Peter Blatty's infamous The Exorcist (1971) by way of Heathers shouldn't miss it."
The wonder of friendship proves to be stronger than the power of Christ when an ancient demon possesses a teenage girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1995

"But it is highly recommended for medical ethicists and anyone concerned about the AIDS epidemic and how HIV research is conducted."
Painstaking analysis of the knotty ethical problems involved in human-subjects research, and a well-thought-out proposal for a community approach to conducting field trials for an HIV vaccine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST DAYS OF THE CONDOR by James Grady
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Grady's anti-heroic spy returns in fine form in an up-to-the-minute novel to which the author, a former Washington investigator, brings plenty of insider knowledge."
Having captured the spy culture of the paranoid Cold War era in his 1974 novel Six Days of the Condor (filmed as Three Days of the Condor with Robert Redford), Grady now depicts the convoluted, cutthroat state of intelligence in the post-9/11 world.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 3, 2012

"Laugh-a-minute or not, an accessible introduction to a densely complex subject."
A lighthearted effort to make the dismal science less dismal, though too often about as funny as a Yakov Smirnoff set. Read full book review >