Search Results: "Cynthia L. Janus"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLING JANUS by Dave Gardner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 22, 2006

"Gardner's vigorous, pulpy prose and well-wrought action scenes somewhat redeem his shameless wallowing in pornographic violence."
What's worse-a fiendish serial killer or a pitiless mercenary killer? Find out in this gore-splattered thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VICTORY ON JANUS by Andre Norton
Released: Sept. 14, 1966

"The writing is in her most involved style and you practically need a machete to break through the underbrush of the Ifts' green, spiritual world."
In a follow-up to Judgement on Janus, this is one of the most illusory, other-dimensional stories from this excellent science fiction writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"Written too soon after the event to stifle self-dramatization—or to touch on the tenuous relationship between actual law practice and classroom drilling—this will be of interest only to masochistic, prospective law students but may mislead them, since Harvard's enormous classes, hothouse ambiance, and rock-rigid first-year requirements are less than representative of current options in legal education."
Like the hero of the book-then-film, The Paper Chase, Turow got all frazzled—smoking, drinking, making and breaking psychiatric appointments—by his first year at Harvard Law School (1975-76), the year with all the tough courses, heavy pressures, competitive snarls, and think-like-a-lawyer angst. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMILY L. by Marguerite Duras
Released: May 15, 1989

Duras (The Lover; The War, etc.) here offers a wise, graceful book, at once modern in its self-consciousness and classic in its clarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CYNTHIA GREGORY DANCES SWAN LAKE by Cynthia Gregory
Released: Oct. 25, 1990

One of the great contemporary prima ballerinas describes the tasks and events of a day climaxed by dancing the lead in her favorite ballet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 29, 1993

"An unsparing and perceptive briefing on a pocketbook issue whose complexities appear beyond the grasp of mass media."
A journalist's informed audit of the factors that brought America's S&Ls to grief. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JANUS STONE by Elly Griffiths
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 21, 2011

"Ruth's second appearance (The Crossing Places, 2009) is an enthralling page-turner that delights in complex characters."
A forensic archaeologist's murder investigation puts her and her unborn child in mortal danger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"An election-year must-read."
Becker's novel, republished from 1995, imagines an alternate political reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT THE L? by Kate Clinton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2005

"Veers wildly among topics, but covers recent political history and gay rights issues with rapid-fire, sometimes blessedly cathartic humor."
Lesbian comic Clinton (Don't Get Me Started, 1998, etc.) riffs on everything from SpongeBob SquarePants to the Supreme Court in this ultra-wry collection of columns and short essays. Read full book review >