Search Results: "Dan Santat"


BOOK REVIEW

SIDEKICKS by Dan Santat
by Dan Santat, illustrated by Dan Santat
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2011

"Extremely entertaining. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
A veritable bonanza of capes, heroes and pets with superpowers abounds in illustrator Santat's first solo graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF BEEKLE by Dan Santat
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Welcome, Beekle. It's nice to know you. (Picture book. 3-7)"
If an imaginary friend is unimagined, does it become a real friend? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RICKY RICOTTA'S MIGHTY ROBOT by Dav Pilkey
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 29, 2014

"An uninspired retread, still with only hints of the wit and silly humor that light up Pilkey's other series. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
New, all-color illustrations on shiny paper add gloss to this reboot of a Captain Underpants also-ran. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARNIVORES by Aaron Reynolds
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 20, 2013

"Will young readers swallow such a tongue-in-cheek take on the importance of self-acceptance? With relish. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Poor carnivores, perched atop the food chain and dissed by all their victims—at least, the prospective ones. What a pity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAWK & ROLL by Tammi Sauer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"This flock rocks. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The further adventures of Elvis Poultry, rooster rock star (Chicken Dance, 2009). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOG IN CHARGE by K.L. Going
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2012

"A rollicking romp. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Printz Honor-winner Going turns from teens and preteens to preschoolers in her picture-book debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATTACK OF THE FLUFFY BUNNIES by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2010

"The hint at a possible sequel will have humorous-adventure lovers asking. (Adventure. 7-10)"
Twins Kevin and Joules Rockman are happy they're spending a week at Camp Whatsitooya on the shores of Lake Whatsosmelly, because it means they don't have to accompany their parents to the International SPAMathon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRANKENSTEIN by Samantha Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"Get ready to read this aloud a lot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Whoa. Be prepared for the intense frustrations, the moody outbursts and the green scowls of Crankenstein. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICTURE DAY PERFECTION by Deborah Diesen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"This tale of a young Wisenheimer is plenty crafty and features a satisfyingly fitting requital. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A clever tale about a kid who wants this year to be his showcase for the perfect school picture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NANNY PIGGINS AND THE WICKED PLAN by R.A. Spratt
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2012

"Feisty, funny Nanny Piggins and her adoring charges will charm readers and listeners stateside, who'll be overjoyed there are five additional volumes already out Down Under. (Humor. 7-10)"
If Amelia Bedelia and Mary Poppins raised a piglet, Nanny Piggins...could surely beat that pig in a cake-eating contest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM'S TWEET by Jill Esbaum
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Totally tweet-rific. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A tweet's anything but a tasty treat for fat Tom cat when his big heart gets him in trouble. Read full book review >