Search Results: "Darryl D. Bowman"


BOOK REVIEW

The Last Of The Titans by Darryl D. Bowman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 12, 2013

"An accomplished thriller that will appeal to fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn."
In Bowman's debut thriller, a former military officer tries to stop a rogue CIA agent from getting his hands on a Titan nuclear missile abandoned during the Cold War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"The illustrations are compelling throughout, but the narrative is more powerful when it is more personal and specific."
An illustrated primer on mental illness that builds to personal revelation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TINKER’S DAMN by Darryl Wimberley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 23, 2000

"Wimberley turns from mysteries (A Rock and a Hard Place, 1999, etc.) to mainstream fiction with fine results: characters to empathize with, and the kind of solid, no-nonsense storytelling altogether too rare these days."
A moving, deeply felt story about fathers and sons, sin and redemption. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEVIL'S SLEW by Darryl Wimberley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2011

"Wimberley knows his weaponry, swamp terrain and small-town prejudices better than most. If hard-boiled is what you're after, Raines qualifies as the black hero du jour."
A special-ops cadre kicked out of Afghanistan resurfaces in northwestern Florida. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Hobbyist by Darryl Shelly
Released: March 13, 2013

"An honest, often hilarious and occasionally sluggish tale of a man who loves sex too much.
"
The fictional account of a self-confessed sexaholic reviewing the path that led to his addiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEPPERFISH KEYS by Darryl Wimberley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 12, 2007

"If Black Mask magazine were still around, that's exactly where you'd expect to find Wimberley (Strawman's Hammock, 2001, etc.), who pumps up his overloaded plot with some supremely grisly set pieces."
A hardboiled potboiler set in the Florida Keys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Care Card by Darryl Bollinger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 8, 2014

"A nightmare scenario of an insurance industry run amok that makes for often entertaining—and troubling—reading."
A hotshot hedge fund manager uncovers an insurance industry conspiracy in this gripping medical thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WISH I WERE BIG by Peter Bowman
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"As the animals under observation become larger, Ted appears smaller and smaller by comparison; he's in every spread, and children will want to locate him with every turn of the page. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Tiny Ted is a very small bear—considerably smaller than the mouse who helps him reach a raspberry for lunch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING OF COLORED TOWN by Darryl Wimberley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Truly heartfelt storytelling."
Fate deals two African-American teens different hands in Northern Florida's mean, segregated backcountry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKBALLED by Darryl Pinckney
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Not a manifesto but a thoughtful examination of ideas that others have been circulating."
A slim volume of two essays that challenge the very notion of a "post-racial" America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMAZING HAMWEENIE ESCAPES! by Patty Bowman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2015

"His owner's gift of a top hat and cape that exactly match the ones he's lost along the way gives the narrative a circular feel that seems quite fitting for this repetitive outing. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Hamweenie the marmalade cat makes good on his desire to escape the confines of his everyday life. Read full book review >