Search Results: "Darryl Pinckney"


BOOK REVIEW

HIGH COTTON by Darryl Pinckney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

This autobiographical first novel delights in irreverence and irony—its politically incorrect narrator refuses to sacrifice his much-cultivated individuality for a ready-made racial identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK DEUTSCHLAND by Darryl Pinckney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"Pinckney's discursive novel, coming across as if it were a late-20th-century hipster version of Rilke's The Notebooks of Marte Laurids Brigge, typifies an era in which inventive, idiosyncratic styles flourish anew in African-American writing."
He's black. He's gay. He's a recovering substance abuser. And he's running around Berlin during the 1980s. For the most part, Pinckney's novel succeeds at being as intriguing as its premise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKBALLED by Darryl Pinckney
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Not a manifesto but a thoughtful examination of ideas that others have been circulating."
A slim volume of two essays that challenge the very notion of a "post-racial" America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEVIL'S SLEW by Darryl Wimberley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2011

"Wimberley knows his weaponry, swamp terrain and small-town prejudices better than most. If hard-boiled is what you're after, Raines qualifies as the black hero du jour."
A special-ops cadre kicked out of Afghanistan resurfaces in northwestern Florida. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TINKER’S DAMN by Darryl Wimberley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 23, 2000

"Wimberley turns from mysteries (A Rock and a Hard Place, 1999, etc.) to mainstream fiction with fine results: characters to empathize with, and the kind of solid, no-nonsense storytelling altogether too rare these days."
A moving, deeply felt story about fathers and sons, sin and redemption. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 25, 2009

"A compelling account of painful addiction and steely resolve."
A former Merchant Marine's harrowing and ultimately inspiring tale of addiction, loss and spiritual redemption. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KAMIK JOINS THE PACK by Darryl Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"A keen introduction to a way of being in the world. (Picture book. 5-7)"
The fundamentals of dog sledding emerge in this story of two youngsters, one a boy and the other a dog, eager to join the team and run. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOGS OF GOD by Pinckney Benedict
Released: Jan. 6, 1994

"Which is particularly annoying in a novel that nevertheless manages to suck you into its wild intrigue."
The first novel by storywriter Benedict (Town Smokes, 1987; The Wrecking Yard, 1992) barely resembles his measured and lyrical short fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARAVAN by Jr. McKay
by Jr. McKay, illustrated by Darryl Ligasan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"The author's note includes geographic information and also acts as a glossary. (Picture book. 6-10)"
Jura is one of the nomadic Kirghiz people of Afghanistan, preparing for the first time to accompany his father on a caravan across the Hindu Kush mountains for supplies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOOK REVIEW

The Last Of The Titans by Darryl D. Bowman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 12, 2013

"An accomplished thriller that will appeal to fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn."
In Bowman's debut thriller, a former military officer tries to stop a rogue CIA agent from getting his hands on a Titan nuclear missile abandoned during the Cold War. Read full book review >