Search Results: "Darynda Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

THIRD GRAVE DEAD AHEAD by Darynda Jones
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Charley's third paranormal case (Second Grave on the Left, 2011, etc.) features updates on the complicated relationships developed in the first two offerings. This time the mystery is stronger but still overshadowed by the ramifications of Charley's day job."
An Albuquerque private eye's professional success just might hinge on her status as grim reaper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH, DOOM AND DETENTION by Darynda Jones
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 15, 2013

"What results is a contrived, confusingly fluffy stop-and-start supernatural romance that's best left on the shelf. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
Demons, prophets, possession, hot Angels of Death! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELEVENTH GRAVE IN MOONLIGHT by Darynda Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 24, 2017

"The 11th from Jones (The Curse of Tenth Grave, 2016, etc.) is densely packed with supernatural problems, sex scenes not for the timid, and assorted complicated mysteries. Boning up on the 10 proceeding installments may be a prerequisite for making sense of this one."
Now that the Grim Reaper has become a god, she's having a hard time dealing with her new powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT by Darynda Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"This first in a series ends with the son of Satan and the promise of a grand battle between good and evil, but this opening offers little more than a clever premise and a ho-hum murder mystery."
The intended laughs don't materialize in this supernatural chick-lit whodunit, featuring a back-talkin' P.I. who sees dead people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIFTH GRAVE PAST THE LIGHT by Darynda Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 9, 2013

"A clever, fast-paced, rollicking paranormal romantic suspense which will leave fans breathless and keep them coming back for more."
Charley Davidson, a grim reaper, navigates lost souls, serial killers, murderous husbands and the son of Satan as she solves crimes and ushers spirits into the light. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Agreeable if formulaic. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)"
Falling in love with a supernova-level handsome hunk when you're only a sophomore can cause problems, but when you discover that he's actually the Angel of Death, you might want to think twice. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOLLY GODDARD JONES
by Megan Labrise

Holly Goddard Jones had written 100 pages of a horror story about killer ticks when she found out she was pregnant. Through her son’s first years and a second pregnancy, she wrote and rewrote The Salt Line, finishing final edits just one month before her daughter was born.

“Once I was dealing with motherhood and all the anxiety around it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ALMA MATTERS
by David Rapp

American universities are bastions of knowledge, hotbeds of activism and academic politics, and a constant source of fascination for writers, who show them at their best and worst. Here are three books, reviewed by Kirkus Indie, that offer very different takes on the college experience.

Adrian Jones Pearson ’s satirical novel Cow Country (2014) presents rural Cow Eye Community College ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOW COULD YOU BE SO HEARTLESS
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 6
Talky Talk: Modern-Day Fairy Tale
Bonus Factors:
 Deal with the Devil, Portland
Anti-Bonus Factor: Patti Chase Award for Awful Parenting
Relationship Status: Summer Fling

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face

Aside from finding a cover model who ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >