Search Results: "David Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

BOHEMIANS by Paul Buhle
NON-FICTION
Released: April 15, 2014

"A terrific appraisal of culture's gypsies, tramps and thieves, worthy of the editors' judgment: 'Obituaries for bohemia have, in short, always been premature.'"
What do Walt Whitman, Josephine Baker and Woody Guthrie have in common? Here, their lives are interwoven with the artistic and cultural movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, all under the umbrella of "bohemianism." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DREAM DOG by Lou Berger
Kirkus Star
by Lou Berger, illustrated by David Catrow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 24, 2014

"This delightful story waffles irresistibly between reality and fantasy, and young readers will find Waffle the dream dog a tasty treat. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The common developmental stage of imaginary friendship is creatively and charmingly addressed in this bittersweet tale of a boy and his dogs—one real and one pretend (or maybe not). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"These illustrations invite close inspection, while the poems will be welcomed in schools where going green is a value. (Poetry. 5-9)"
For this collection of 30 poems, not only nursery rhymes but also familiar children's songs ("Yankee Doodle," "Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush," etc.) have been given new lyrics promoting energy conservation activities and healthy living. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CORKER'S FREEDOM by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 1993

"An intermittently perceptive novel, then, that lacks the economy of Berger's later fiction."
How do we process experience? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROM A TO X by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2008

"Berger's writing comes off as equal parts somber and exalted."
A novel comprised of a series of letters allegedly "recuperated" by Berger (Hold Everything Dear, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONTAGIOUS by Jonah Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: March 5, 2013

"A provocative shift in focus from the technology of online transmission to the human element and a bold claim to explain 'how word of mouth and social influence work...[and] can [be used to] make any product or idea contagious.'"
A marketing professor at the Wharton School explains how fads are generated and why certain products, ideas and behaviors gain social currency. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"Berger delivers the inside scoop with ample melodrama and star-crossed folly."
A dishy take on the successful yet calamity-prone Broadway production of Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark. Read full book review >