Search Results: "David Biedrzycki"


BOOK REVIEW

ACE LACEWING by David Biedrzycki
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2005

"Fans of Doug Cushman's Mystery at the Club Sandwich (2004) and similar capers will happily sink their mandibles into this buggy brouhaha. (Picture book. 7-9)"
His bright yellow trench coat lighting up the tenebrous mean streets of Motham City, crack gumshoe Ace Lacewing swoops into action when Hive Rise Honey Company's Queenie Bee goes missing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEARS TO THE RESCUE by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Who knows if the TV-news format can stay fresh much longer, but the bears are sweetly rendered, and the chaos that unfolds around them entertains even without the frame. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Escaped bears return to mix it up among humans, but this time it's to save their cub as they all become media celebrities in a lively parody of TV news. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DRAGON by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"Not a must-have. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Biedrzycki returns with a follow-up story of these two friends (Me and My Dragon, 2011), with a focus on Dragon's fear of Halloween. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROUNDHOG'S RUNAWAY SHADOW by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"Delightful. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A groundhog mutiny! Will Phil's shadow ever return? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2009

"Here's just more proof that there's no room in Motham for bad guys—er, bugs—with Ace on the case. (Picture book. 7-9)"
It's all about family in the chitinous crime solver's latest caper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DRAGON by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"The idea of giving to others as the best way to celebrate Christmas is certainly not new, but the treatment here is fresh enough thanks to the help of the charming red dragon. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the third story in the Me and My Dragon series, the red dragon and the boy who owns him find a new way to celebrate Christmas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR ALERT by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Fun and topical. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Curious bears trigger a media frenzy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DRAGON by David Biedrzycki
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2011

"Boy and dragon close their day with a bedtime read ('Knight Boy,' which looks like a graphic novel featuring a familiar-looking red dragon); this amiable story can help real-life families do the same. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Young dragon lovers not quite ready for the film How to Train Your Dragon will appreciate this gentle, imaginative account of what having a dragon as a pet might be like. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2010

"His generous text, narrated by Ace in vintage Chandler fashion, may suit an older age group than his Photoshop illustrations, but both have appeal. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Can an insect shamus solve the case of the missing bat? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID by Mary Hoffman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Nonfiction masquerading as a novel and failing as either sort of narrative. (character list, historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 13 & up)"
The author of the Stravaganaza series reveals the muse behind Michelangelo's David. Read full book review >