Search Results: "David Cay Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"Investigative journalism at its best, as Johnston seeks to comfort the afflicted while afflicting the comfortable."
Veteran investigative reporter Johnston reveals how businesses, with the consent of government agencies, rip off consumers in plain sight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Voters ready to pull the trigger one way or another probably won't be swayed by these revelations, but they are highly damning indeed."
The Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist takes aim at his longtime bête noire, "a modern P.T. Barnum selling tickets to a modern variation of the Feejee Mermaid." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Without solutions, this remains little more than a list of grievances."
An exhaustive litany of federal, state and even local giveaways to the very wealthy, described in agonizing and depressing detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIVIDED by David Cay Johnston
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2014

"A potent chronicle of America's 'extreme inequality, the worst by far of any nation with a modern economy.'"
Investigative reporter Johnston (The Fine Print: How Big Companies Use "Plain English" to Rob You Blind, 2012, etc.) collects together writings from forty authors representing many different fields of endeavor to present a multifaceted picture of inequality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"A sobering, if episodic, case against an unproductive enterprise whose social costs are both steep and far-reaching. (Thirty b&w photographs—not seen.)"
A haphazard, albeit generally effective, exposÇ of the decidedly dubious blessings that commercial gambling confers upon host communities and the body politic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST GRADE, HERE I COME! by Tony Johnston
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 30, 2015

"Skip. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A redheaded boy imagines the fun he will have in first grade if he just has five friends to share it with. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDEROUS MISTRAL by Cay Rademacher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Rademacher (The Wolf Children, 2017, etc.) writes with quiet authority, methodically filling in pieces of the puzzle and laying a solid foundation for further clever whodunits with a strong supporting cast."
Criminal misdeeds turn out to be just as devious in charming Provence as in the mean streets of Paris. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 15, 1995

"This suspenseful book, based on interviews with key players, including Ames himself, lends powerful ammunition to Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan's argument that the CIA has seen its day and should be abolished. (Author tour)"
An eye-widening look inside one of America's most notorious spy cases. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

It's Not Your Fault by Cay Shea Hellervik
NON-FICTION
Released: May 22, 2014

"Promising but ultimately unconvincing guidance for addressing a challenging familial and social issue."
An innovative at-home program for juvenile offenders. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE PADAWAN THAT GOT AWAY
by Thea James

I love Star Wars.

Like many science fiction fans, I grew up enamored of Jedi and The Force. As a kid, I religiously watched the original trilogy with my family (we are a family of re-watchers). As a teen, I bought into the prequel trilogy: I braved the lines for each film premier showing, collected the video games, the Pepsi ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

’80 by Whit Johnston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Clear candid shots that suck you in."
Charming short debut about a girl photog in Manhattan in 1980 and the scenes she covers. Read full book review >