Search Results: "David Clark"


BOOK REVIEW

FRACTIONS IN DISGUISE by Edward Einhorn
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 25, 2014

"No question—a large fraction of parents and teachers will be reaching for this. (Math picture book. 7-10)"
Not only tackling fractions, but simplifying them, this fills a need and thoroughly entertains. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIGGINS HOLE by Kevin Boreen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Steer clear. (Fantasy. 8-11)"
A middle-grade undersea fantasy angles to be a comical clambake but reels in only a damp debacle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A VERY HAIRY SCARY STORY by Rick Walton
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"The tale's repetition and the toothy monsters will tickle and titillate storytime crowds any time of year and will certainly find a place on the bibliotherapy shelf. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Sarah has stayed at Ann's house too late. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOBBY BRAMBLE LOSES HIS BRAIN by Dave Keane
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 18, 2009

"Truly, a no-brainer. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Faint but distinct echoes of "Gingerbread Boy" resound through this tale of a young daredevil whose brain takes advantage of a headfirst fall to make a bid for freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOLLARS & SENSE by Elaine Scott
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"An informative primer on how money functions that doesn't trigger the dismal science's snooze button. (glossary, resources, index) (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
A sporty guide to the wide, weird world of money. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUS-A-SAURUS BOP by Diane Z. Shore
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Not for the faint of heart, but perfect for readers with a taste for the offbeat and the playfully grotesque. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Cheerfully bizarre illustrations and energetic but inconsistent rhymes tell of the monster "bus-a-saurus" as he proceeds around town picking up schoolchildren. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVER INSULT A KILLER ZUCCHINI by Elana Azose
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"All in all, more fun for the science-fair judges than the participants. (Picture book. 8-12)"
An alphabetical walk through the exhibits in a school science fair is the backdrop to one killer zucchini's vendetta. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST LIKE US! BIRDS by Bridget Heos
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Light entertainment—a laudable attempt to connect the animal world to our human one, but it relies too much on anthropomorphization to make its point. (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
Though different from humans in many ways, birds do many things people do. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >