Search Results: "David Colmer"


BOOK REVIEW

DIRECTOR’S CUT by Arthur Japin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 12, 2010

"Heartfelt, but murky and unpersuasive."
Japin (In Lucia's Eyes, 2005, etc.) follows up two excellent novels rooted in historical fact with a disappointing effort based on his personal history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN LUCIA’S EYES by Arthur Japin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 25, 2005

"An entertainment that's also an enlightenment."
An incident only fleetingly described in Giacomo Casanova's voluminous Memoirs is deftly expanded in this intriguing second novel from the Dutch former actor and author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MISFORTUNATES by Dimitri Verhulst
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"A poetic, no-holds-barred slice of the European lowlife, with lots of drinking."
A family of deeply entrenched alcoholics stumbles its way toward grace in this 2007 novel of misadventure from award-winning Belgian writer Verhulst (Goddamn Days on a Goddamn Globe, 2008, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A POND FULL OF INK by Annie M.G. Schmidt
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2014

"Heartwarming creative genius abounds here, offering visual and aural pleasures aplenty: not to be missed. (Picture book/poetry. 6-14)"
A dozen poems from the inimitable Dutch writer magnificently translated and illustrated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE OF THE SEVEN SISTERS by Elle Eggels
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 24, 2002

"Sensual talespinning: often evocative and involving, if a bit precious."
Seven sisters run a bakery after their mother's death and father's disappearance—in a Dutch family saga that edges toward magical realism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOW-TRUCK PLUCK by Annie M.G. Schmidt
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"Young fans of Pippi Longstocking will admire this budding eco-warrior, both for his independence and his determination to help others in need. (Fiction. 9-11)"
In a set of popular tales from a Hans Christian Andersen Award-winning author, a young lad arrives in town with nothing but a tow truck and finds a home as well as friends both human and animal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT WHO CAME IN OFF THE ROOF by Annie M.G. Schmidt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"A charming, refreshing, and funny treat. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
A shy newspaper reporter gets a helping paw from local felines through a mysterious and "cattish" young lady. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DOG LIKE SAM by Edward van de Vendel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 8, 2016

"A moving and memorable tale of love, forgiveness, and compassion among beings both human and canine. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A Canadian family's emotional life is enriched by the affections of a shaggy white dog. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >