Search Results: "David Cordingly"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2003

"Solid and well-researched stuff, and a pleasure for fans of Patrick O'Brian, C.S. Forester, and other chroniclers of the fighting sail."
A satisfying tale of a mighty ship, and of a half-century under the mast in some of Europe's fiercest wars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 2, 2001

"Competent, but of limited interest."
A serviceable examination of women's contributions to maritime history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCHRANE by David Cordingly
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Landlubbers may find this a lengthy voyage, but devotees of yarns about brave British tars will be delighted to be aboard."
Avast, Horatio Hornblower! Shove off, Jack Aubrey! Give way to a real life knee-breeched naval hero. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Readers who do not mind a somewhat plodding pace will find a great deal that is surprising about the lives of these legendary men (and women). (16 pages b&w photos and maps, not seen) (Author tour)"
Cordingly, a former head of exhibitions at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, presents a no-frills picture of the early 18th century buccaneer, revealing the basis of our romantic conceptions of pirates. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A READING YEAR: SOMETIMES A CHANGE OF PERSPECTIVE IS USEFUL
by J. Kingston Pierce

Last December, after posting my “favorite crime novels of 2015” list, I put together a rather different assessment of the year’s new offerings in this genre. Rather than confine myself to picking 10 books (all released in the United States) that I judged to have been particularly well-written and memorable—a traditional and potentially valuable, but admittedly limiting exercise—I expanded my ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RAT AND ROACH ROCK ON! by David Covell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 21, 2013

"Since it isn't either funny or gross enough to truly succeed, place this one only where the previous title has already proved popular. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Opposites may attract, but readers will remain uncharmed by this dry picture-book sequel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO, MR. HULOT by David Merveille
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Mr. Hulot may not be as well-known on this side of the pond as the Little Tramp or Buster Keaton, but he definitely merits a seat in the same row. (afterword) (Graphic picture book. 6-9)"
Twenty-two comical, wordless mini-episodes in sequential panels pay terrific tribute to a classic Chaplin-esque character created by actor/filmmaker Jacques Tati for a series of French movies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICO THE BRAVE by David Horowitz
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2012

"A humorous, original tale about one plucky clucker, distinguished by vibrantly colored, cartoonish illustrations that match the text's hilarity on every page. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Chico is a chicken—in both senses—until adventure earns him the title "The Brave." Read full book review >