Search Results: "David Dollenmayer"


BOOK REVIEW

GOETHE by Rüdiger Safranski
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 16, 2017

"A penetrating, engrossing biography of a literary giant."
A masterful life of the prolific playwright, novelist, statesman, and poet who defined German romanticism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUSAN SONTAG by Daniel Schreiber
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 15, 2014

"Schreiber's intelligent reading of Sontag's works and his fair and balanced handling of the impassioned controversies she generated admirably serve both his subject and his readers."
A sensitive, cleareyed biography of an intellectual star, first published in Germany in 2007. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DIVER by Alfred Neven DuMont
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"Although the plot occasionally takes banal turns, character voices, as rendered by Dollenmayer's unassuming translation, lend meditative gravitas to the melodrama."
An octogenarian reflects ruefully on his beloved daughter's death and wonders if he could have prevented it, in German media magnate DuMont's debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING OF CORSICA by Michael Kleeberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 6, 2008

"There's undoubtedly a great swashbuckling adventure story here, but Kleeberg has failed to unearth it."
This first U.S. publication of the German author is a leaden historical, based on a true story, about the (mostly) charmed life of an 18th-century German baron. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROAD TO RESCUE by Mietek Pemper
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2008

"Compelling subject matter rendered in somewhat dry prose, a possible result of the translation."
A former inmate of the concentration camp that provided slave labor to Oskar Schindler's factory informatively recounts the compilation of the businessman's famous list. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOUSE OF CHILDHOOD by Anna Mitgutsch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 14, 2006

"Dense and deeply moving."
The quest for a sense of belonging motivates a first-generation Jewish American exploring his roots in post-WWII Austria. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MADONNA ON THE MOON by Rolf Bauerdick
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 5, 2013

"Though the prose doesn't set off sparks, Baeurdick finds an off-kilter way to explore a dour period in history."
A busy, lightly absurdist coming-of-age tale driven by the confusions of communism, religion and the space race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CROSSING THE HUDSON by Peter Stephan Jungk
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 10, 2009

"Jungk's beautiful, uncanny work breaks new ground in stories about fathers and sons."
A traffic jam prompts a stirring meditation on family, faith and intellect. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >