Search Results: "David Finkel"


BOOK REVIEW

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE by David Finkel
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A real war story with a jarring but critical message for the American people."
Washington Post writer Finkel delivers one of the most morally responsible works of journalism to emerge from the post-9/11 era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOOD SOLDIERS by David Finkel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 22, 2009

"A superb account of the burdens soldiers bear."
Did the much-vaunted surge of American troops in Iraq work? Yes, said George W. Bush. A soldierly response differed: "I've had enough of this bullshit." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUE STORY by Michael Finkel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 24, 2005

"There's a morbid fascination in following Longo's descent, and Finkel (Alpine Circus, 1999) tells the tawdry tale in crisp journalist's prose. But the result leaves us feeling used, and certainly no better for having met either figure."
A disgraced New York Times reporter seeks out an accused murderer who'd been using the reporter's identity while evading U.S. authorities in Mexico. A marriage of convenience perhaps, but not one made in heaven. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"A poignant memoir with a refreshing absence of melodrama or pomp."
An honest, awe-inspiring tale of bittersweet survival in the face of formidable odds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2006

"The more we know about the Ottomans, the more easily comprehensible the subsequent history of the region they ruled becomes. Finkel's study makes a useful contribution."
Readable survey of one of the world's great empires. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 1, 1999

"Finally, Finkel's adventures, no doubt fertile ground for soul-stirring, life-changing episodes, come off as unadorned tomfoolery."
Jaunty, artless dispatches from some very unusual skiing locales—Iran, northwestern China, Bolivia, etc.—by outdoor writer Finkel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ARK BEFORE NOAH by Irving Finkel
NON-FICTION
Released: March 25, 2014

"Under the tutelage of a clever scholar, a cuneiform tablet brings to life an ancient world and the genesis of a great biblical story."
The ubiquitous tale of the Great Flood was not new to the writers of Genesis. Finkel, the assistant keeper of ancient Mesopotamian script, languages and culture at the British Museum, offers some fresh particulars about the source of the biblical story. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORDINARY JEWS by Evgeny Finkel
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2017

"Of much interest to students of modern history but also to those engaged in humanitarian relief efforts, refugee relocation, and the like."
A political scientist turns fresh eyes on the problem of how European Jews responded to the Holocaust as it was unfolding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STRANGER IN THE WOODS by Michael Finkel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 7, 2017

"A thoughtful, honest, and poignant portrait."
A journalist's account of a Massachusetts man who went deep into the Maine woods to live a life of solitude and self-sufficiency. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >