Search Results: "David Homel"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST GENET by Hadrien Laroche
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"An indispensible study for readers interested in Genet, the Black Panthers, the Palestinian/Israeli conflict or, more generally, the philosophy of humanism."
A critical investigation of French writer and philosopher Jean Genet (1910-1986) in his later years, 1968 until his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 15, 2013

"Nonfiction with the resonance of literary fiction and the impact of real tragedy."
Keen observation, incisive analysis and passionate engagement mark this author's account of the 2010 earthquake that devastated his native Haiti. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUCH A LOVELY LITTLE WAR by Marcelino Truong
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"A first-rate work of graphic memoir dealing with a pivotal period in modern American history."
The early years of the Vietnam War through the eyes of a child, as rendered by the graphic artist he became. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAVELING CIRCUS by Marie-Louise Gay
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2015

"A salutary, unusual look at part of the world rarely seen in North American children's literature, wrapped up in family fun. (Fiction. 7-10)"
A Canadian family's vacation in Croatia offers both typical road-trip zaniness and opportunities for deep reflection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUMMER IN THE CITY by Marie-Louise Gay
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"An upbeat summer idyll likely to draw chuckles whether read alone or aloud. (Fiction. 10-12)"
After previous family vacations highlighted by encounters with alligators, revolutionaries and natural disasters (see Travels With My Family, 2006, for details) a "stay-cation" at home in Montreal sounds a trifle boring to Charlie. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"A perfect sequel, liberally illustrated with Gay's good-humored sketches, this middle-grade novel brims with anecdotal entertainment for the earliest of armchair travelers. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Charlie and his little brother Max are off with their parents on a new adventure (Travels with My Family, 2006), this time to the tiny village of Celeriac in France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWING CAFÉ by Carl Norac
by Carl Norac, illustrated by Rebecca Dautremer, translated by Jacob Homel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"The text's a bit long on gratuitous adventure, but the package is unusual and fresh. (Picture book. 5-8)"
This French import incorporates classic jazz tunes from the 1920s through '50s with the determined aspirations of an angel-voiced Brazilian cricket. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PISTACHIO AND THE PEST by Marie-Louise Gay
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 3, 2015

"Long live Princess Pistachio. (Early reader. 4-8)"
Princess Pistachio Shoelace's summer vacation is not starting out on a high note. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PISTACHIO by Marie-Louise Gay
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 2, 2015

"A playful and entertaining take on children's perennial questions surrounding ideas of personhood, family and community. (Early reader. 4-8)"
The arrival of a tiara in the mail is the tipping point in evidence for Pistachio Shoelace that she is really a princess—but no one seems to believe her. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >