Search Results: "David J. Deines"


BOOK REVIEW

WHO GIVES A HOWL by David J. Deines
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 20, 2011

"A fun, dark horror tale."
Deines, in this first installment of a planned four-part series, takes familiar conceits of fantasy and horror—werewolves, vampires and brave, relentless heroes—and freights them with religious significance. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGRY ROSCOE by David J. Plant
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 9, 2015

"A droll episode, with any lesson or moral beyond, maybe, 'try, try again' absent or well-buried. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Persistence pays off for an urban raccoon determined to upgrade his garbage-based diet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO MANY CLIENTS by David J. Walker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Walker's fifth entry lets Kirsten do what she does best: get oversold on everything except her rock-solid relationship with her ever-lovin' bad boy Dugan."
Sleuthing for her husband doesn't prevent Kirsten, of Wild Onion, Ltd. (All the Dead Fathers, 2005, etc.), from taking on a host of other clients whose interests may or may not align with his. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 13, 2001

"Comprehensive research and concise narrative ensure that this history will be the first stop for a new generation of Civil War scholars, students, and enthusiasts. (49 maps)"
An exhaustive one-volume history presenting not only the major battles in Virginia but also illuminating such usually overlooked parts of the Civil War as western battles and naval actions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Not exactly haunting, but there's some frightfully nice reportage on the history of a lively festival. Boo! (16-page color insert, not seen)"
There were no razor blades in the Halloween apples. That trick-or-treat caper is an urban legend, says Skal, who knows about creepy movies and other scary stuff (Screams of Reason, 1998, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APPLAUD THE HOLLOW GHOST by David J. Walker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 19, 1998

"Mal's third (Half the Truth, 1996, etc.) does a manful job of tacking between fisticuffs and sensitive stuff, though violence will win out, in an operatic finale, before all the perps are finally brought to book."

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 1999

"An absorbing, reflective narrative of the life and crusades of America's quintessential 'people's lawyer.' (16 photos)"
In a vivid, thoughtfully enthusiastic critique, Langum (Law/Samford Univ.; Crossing the Line: Legislating Morality and the Mann Act, 1994) outlines the life, loves, and legal struggles of the radical lawyer who defended such diverse clients as the Chicago Seven, the Attica prison insurgents, Jack Ruby, and John Gotti. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOT.BOMB by J. David Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2001

"Slightly better than average: a cautionary business tale for readers of Forbes and Fortune."
Or, how to lose a gazillion dollars in ten easy lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THOSE WHO RUN by David J. Murphy

"An intriguing YA thriller with a spunky but gold-hearted heroine, a cast of supportive, decent friends, and the twin backdrops of a mysterious criminal enterprise and abusive family members."
A girl on the run from an abusive father unwillingly winds up embroiled in an illegal scheme, from which she'll need help from her friends to escape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2000

"Beyond all the angry rap videos, Dent's eloquent reportage shows us that Dr. Huxtable is no fantasy, and the Fresh Prince may have family in Bel Air."
A myth-busting four-year catalogue of middle-class black life in small-town USA. Read full book review >