Search Results: "David J. Linden"


BOOK REVIEW

TOUCH by David J. Linden
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"So surpassing does Linden make touch seem that even turning the pages of his book becomes a pleasurable experience."
A crisp reminder that the sense of touch is not to be taken lightly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 18, 2011

"In the meantime, Linden provides a fresh perspective on pleasure and confirms that those who suffer addictions are truly ill and not just weak-willed losers."
Journal of Neurophysiology editor in chief Linden (Neuroscience/Johns Hopkins Univ.; The Accidental Mind: How Brain Evolution Has Given Us Love, Memory, Dreams, and God, 2007) probes the anatomy of pleasure in this review of what happens in the brain when we "feel good." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J by Howard Jacobson
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"A pleasure, as reading Jacobson always is—though much different from what we've come to expect, which is not at all a bad thing."
Jacobson (The Finkler Question, 2010, etc.), Britain's answer to Philip Roth, returns with an enigmatic tale of the near future.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID by Mary Hoffman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Nonfiction masquerading as a novel and failing as either sort of narrative. (character list, historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 13 & up)"
The author of the Stravaganaza series reveals the muse behind Michelangelo's David. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON LINDEN SQUARE by Kate Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Pleasant but inconsequential. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Stella Mae loves to sit at her apartment-house window and watch her neighbors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEMIMA J by Jane Green
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2000

"Slightly unpredictable story development saves this from exactly duplicating the vast mound of similar feel-good modern fairy tales for women, but it lives in the same neighborhood."
An overweight woman turns from ugly duckling to swan in British novelist Green's American debut: a tale that offers plenty of engaging plot twists but not much substance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J. EDEN by Kit Reed
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 22, 1996

"Terrific takes on time's rush, with a touch of that personal enlightenment offered to a certain generation of moviegoers by The Big Chill—but less glib."
Reedian thoughts about life, marriage, middle age, and children when three couples, their kids, and a close friend spend the summer lumped together in a New England farmhouse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DR. J by Karl Taro Greenfeld
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"A good enough treatment of the phenomenon called 'Dr. J' and an especially thoughtful account of the man, Julius Erving."
The NBA's most transformative player submits an unusually revealing autobiography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J. P. by John Mooers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 31, 2013

"A history buff's guilty pleasure, offering a behind-the-scenes peek into the world of a man whose impact on society lasts to this day."
A historical novel that paints an intimate portrait of J.P. Morgan, U.S. banker, financier and philanthropist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GENERATION J by Lisa Schiffman
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Schiffman's challenge will be to sustain her winsome, ironical tone as (and if) she enters more deeply into Jewish community. (Author tour)"
With a blessedly light touch, Schiffman, formerly an editor with the San Francisco Review of Books and until recently a nonobservant Jew, relates her beginner's quest for a Judaism she can genuinely practice and believe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VANISHING OF KATHARINA LINDEN by Helen Grant
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Atmospheric moments punctuate a story marked by uncertainties of pace and logic which, despite gruesome content, is probably intended for younger readers."
Grimm and grimmer fairy tale meets terror in a small German town where girls are being abducted again as they were 50 years ago. Read full book review >