Search Results: "David J. Linden"


BOOK REVIEW

TOUCH by David J. Linden
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"So surpassing does Linden make touch seem that even turning the pages of his book becomes a pleasurable experience."
A crisp reminder that the sense of touch is not to be taken lightly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 18, 2011

"In the meantime, Linden provides a fresh perspective on pleasure and confirms that those who suffer addictions are truly ill and not just weak-willed losers."
Journal of Neurophysiology editor in chief Linden (Neuroscience/Johns Hopkins Univ.; The Accidental Mind: How Brain Evolution Has Given Us Love, Memory, Dreams, and God, 2007) probes the anatomy of pleasure in this review of what happens in the brain when we "feel good." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J by Howard Jacobson
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"A pleasure, as reading Jacobson always is—though much different from what we've come to expect, which is not at all a bad thing."
Jacobson (The Finkler Question, 2010, etc.), Britain's answer to Philip Roth, returns with an enigmatic tale of the near future.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID by Mary Hoffman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Nonfiction masquerading as a novel and failing as either sort of narrative. (character list, historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 13 & up)"
The author of the Stravaganaza series reveals the muse behind Michelangelo's David. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON LINDEN SQUARE by Kate Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Pleasant but inconsequential. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Stella Mae loves to sit at her apartment-house window and watch her neighbors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEMIMA J by Jane Green
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2000

"Slightly unpredictable story development saves this from exactly duplicating the vast mound of similar feel-good modern fairy tales for women, but it lives in the same neighborhood."
An overweight woman turns from ugly duckling to swan in British novelist Green's American debut: a tale that offers plenty of engaging plot twists but not much substance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J. EDEN by Kit Reed
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 22, 1996

"Terrific takes on time's rush, with a touch of that personal enlightenment offered to a certain generation of moviegoers by The Big Chill—but less glib."
Reedian thoughts about life, marriage, middle age, and children when three couples, their kids, and a close friend spend the summer lumped together in a New England farmhouse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID BOWIE by Paul Trynka
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 18, 2011

"Bowie nerds will love it, and music nerds will admire it; regular nerds and most others will think it's about 150 pages too long."
Everything you always wanted to know about the Thin White Duke. Everything. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID COPPERFIELD by Charles Dickens
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Marks's storytelling skills are further demonstrated by the different sizes of the pictures, their distribution, and layout—on the whole, they evocatively conjure this hearty tale, and will send readers off to the original. (Picture book. 8-12)"
A more or less self-contained excerpt from the novel, in a creative abridgement done by Dickens for one of his public readings (Anthea Bell's afterword provides notes about these performances and the texts Dickens prepared for them). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OSCAR J by Sherlene Adolphe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 10, 2013

"A compassionate guide that can help parents and kids with tough questions."
A debut book steers young readers and their families through experiences of loss. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J. EDGAR HOOVER by Rick Geary
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 15, 2008

"As solid, thrilling and informative a guide to the life of the America's most powerful authoritarian as one could ask for."
The life and times of America's top cop, by prolific author/artist Geary (The Bloody Benders, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >