Search Results: "David J. Wolpe"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 4, 1992

"Good feelings galore, but next time, hold those maxims."
A Conservative rabbi (The Healer of Shattered Hearts, 1990) ponders the ways by which words link God and humans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

The Psalmist wrote that although weeping would endure for the night, there would be joy when morning came. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID GARROW
by Gregory McNamee

Barack Obama has been portrayed as being many things over his life and political career. Some have thought him flippant, coasting by on charm and glibness. Others have thought him suspect. Admirers and detractors both have found him aloof, though very few have doubted the fact of his formidable intelligence.

And admirers and detractors alike have also found Barack Obama ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGRY ROSCOE by David J. Plant
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 9, 2015

"A droll episode, with any lesson or moral beyond, maybe, 'try, try again' absent or well-buried. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Persistence pays off for an urban raccoon determined to upgrade his garbage-based diet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 13, 2001

"Comprehensive research and concise narrative ensure that this history will be the first stop for a new generation of Civil War scholars, students, and enthusiasts. (49 maps)"
An exhaustive one-volume history presenting not only the major battles in Virginia but also illuminating such usually overlooked parts of the Civil War as western battles and naval actions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APPLAUD THE HOLLOW GHOST by David J. Walker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 19, 1998

"Mal's third (Half the Truth, 1996, etc.) does a manful job of tacking between fisticuffs and sensitive stuff, though violence will win out, in an operatic finale, before all the perps are finally brought to book."

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING IN THE BLOOD by David J. Skal
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A wild, occasionally messy, ultimately enthralling work of biography."
An exhaustive portrait of the author of Dracula and his suppressed emotional life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOT.BOMB by J. David Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2001

"Slightly better than average: a cautionary business tale for readers of Forbes and Fortune."
Or, how to lose a gazillion dollars in ten easy lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE OF BLUE MANGOES by David J. Davidar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 10, 2002

"A lavish tale that will evoke memories of such other disparate predecessors as Forster's A Passage to India and Vikram Seth's A Suitable Boy. Readers who persevere through its intermittent tedious passages will be generously rewarded."
An epic sweep and several strikingly imagined characters are the most impressive features of this nevertheless uneven debut: an ambitious three-generational saga that embraces the early 20th-century history of the Indian subcontinent, Gandhi's pacifist revolution, and the collapse of the British Raj. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 1999

"An absorbing, reflective narrative of the life and crusades of America's quintessential 'people's lawyer.' (16 photos)"
In a vivid, thoughtfully enthusiastic critique, Langum (Law/Samford Univ.; Crossing the Line: Legislating Morality and the Mann Act, 1994) outlines the life, loves, and legal struggles of the radical lawyer who defended such diverse clients as the Chicago Seven, the Attica prison insurgents, Jack Ruby, and John Gotti. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THOSE WHO RUN by David J. Murphy

"An intriguing YA thriller with a spunky but gold-hearted heroine, a cast of supportive, decent friends, and the twin backdrops of a mysterious criminal enterprise and abusive family members."
A girl on the run from an abusive father unwillingly winds up embroiled in an illegal scheme, from which she'll need help from her friends to escape. Read full book review >