Search Results: "David Lazar"


BOOK REVIEW

I'LL BE YOUR MIRROR by David Lazar
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 1, 2017

"Sometimes-provocative material residing in a collection that often feels forced together."
An eclectic collection finds Lazar (Creative Writing/Columbia Coll., Chicago; Occasional Desire, 2013, etc.) attempting to reach beyond category, or at least beyond the personal essay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OCCASIONAL DESIRE by David Lazar
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Jagged pieces of a mirror that reveal a quirky, informed and immensely curious character."
Essayist Lazar (Creative Writing and English/Columbia Coll., Chicago; The Body of Brooklyn, 2003, etc.) returns with a collection of ruminations ranging from the quotidian to the querulous, from the evanescent to the enduring. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SWAY by Zachary Lazar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2008

"A skillful dramatization of the consequences of making and inhabiting your own world. The Stones ought to write a song about it."
The often self-destructive misadventures of "young people severed from all ties to the ordinary world" are chronicled in Lazar's alluringly creepy second novel (Aaron, Approximately, 1998). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AARON, APPROXIMATELY by Zachary Lazar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 1998

"A connect-the-dots first novel with a studied, self-conscious, sporadically vivid style."
A coming-of-age story that features a hero as ambivalent as the book's title—and the reader's response is likely to be just about equally so-so. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 8, 2009

"Meticulous but difficult to follow."
An exacting examination of the life and 1975 murder of the author's father, Ed Lazar, an Arizona accountant killed just before testifying about the house-of-cards real-estate business he'd inadvertently helped orchestrate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROAM by Alan Lazar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Not a Disney-esque Homeward Bound homage, but rather something of a canine version of Black Beauty."
Award-winning musician/composer Lazar's debut novel presents the tale of Nelson, half-beagle, half-poodle, and thoroughly lost. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE RED GLIDING HOOD by Tara Lazar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"No skating on thin ice here—it's a winner. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A girl in a hood glides into a new version of an old story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

7 ATE 9 by Tara Lazar
by Tara Lazar, illustrated by Ross MacDonald
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"Counting has never been so mysterious or so much fun. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Pun fun reigns over this fast-paced whodunit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I THOUGHT THIS WAS A BEAR BOOK by Tara Lazar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"It's capably enough executed, but there are no surprises here. (Picture book. 3-7)"
An extraterrestrial spaceship crashes into the "Goldilocks" fairy tale in this mashup metafictive picture book. Read full book review >