Search Results: "David McPhail"


BOOK REVIEW

DAVID by Mary Hoffman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Nonfiction masquerading as a novel and failing as either sort of narrative. (character list, historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 13 & up)"
The author of the Stravaganaza series reveals the muse behind Michelangelo's David. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEATRIX POTTER AND HER PAINTBOX by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Humble and lovely. (Picture book/biography. 3-6)"
A small girl named Beatrix Potter spends her childhood painting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER LOVES PENGUIN by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A sweet addition to a winning series. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A little boy and his stuffed penguin enjoy an early-morning romp in the snow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUDGIE & BOO by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Sweet fare. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Jewel-toned watercolors and three simple tales of friendship distinguish McPhail's latest outing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BROWN BEAR’S BIRTHDAY SURPRISE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2007

"The artwork is dreamily soft at the edges, with colors so fruity you could spread them on toast. (Picture book. 3-7)"
McPhail's two good souls, Big Brown Bear and Rat, are down by the riverside, picnicking on cucumber sandwiches. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOY ON THE BRINK by David McPhail
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2006

"These are the dreams that a young boy dreams of dreaming. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young boy is having a great day fishing, going to the beach and to a carnival, but the elders of the family are quick to issue warnings: "Not too close," "Stay out of the caves," "Hold on tight." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BROWN BEAR’S UP AND DOWN DAY by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Caring, sharing, a little cross-species harmony—McPhail wears them all so lightly, caught with unsubtle gestures and the muted use of Old World color. (Picture book. 3-7)"
McPhail's worlds are so heartening and nourishing they might have just popped out of the kitchen stove. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SANTA'S BOOK OF NAMES by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"The novel twist on the popular scenario makes a sweet story that's sure to be a hit, especially with McPhail's cozy illustrations of Edward's home and a traditional Santa. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When Edward has trouble learning to read, his teacher urges tests but his mother counsels ``Patience.'' Then, in Edward's house on Christmas Eve, Santa accidentally drops the all- important book listing the gifts children will receive—and when Edward catches up with him to give it back, Santa invites him to come along to help. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I HUG  by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Ideal for the newest of new readers, this tender title's usefulness may be limited to a very narrow developmental window, but it'll do yeoman work within it. (Early reader. 4-8)"
McPhail's newest in the I Like to Read series hinges on pivot grammar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SICK DAY by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Just doesn't compare to Shelley Moore Thomas and Jennifer Plecas' similarly themed Get Well, Good Knight (2002) or even to the trio's prior adventure. (Early reader. 4-7)"
A sick boy's devoted friends try to help him feel better. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOY, BIRD, AND DOG by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"This one could work as a read-aloud, child to adult, with lots of pictorial details to notice and talk about. A sweet, gentle charmer. (Early reader. 4-7)"
Boy has a small adventure in a tree house with Bird and Dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >