Search Results: "David McPhail"


BOOK REVIEW

SICK DAY by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Just doesn't compare to Shelley Moore Thomas and Jennifer Plecas' similarly themed Get Well, Good Knight (2002) or even to the trio's prior adventure. (Early reader. 4-7)"
A sick boy's devoted friends try to help him feel better. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOY, BIRD, AND DOG by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"This one could work as a read-aloud, child to adult, with lots of pictorial details to notice and talk about. A sweet, gentle charmer. (Early reader. 4-7)"
Boy has a small adventure in a tree house with Bird and Dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BROWN BEAR by David McPhail
Released: March 1, 1999

"Beginning readers will be amused by the gentle humor in the book, and feel accomplished to have tackled it themselves. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Big Brown Bear, with a natty bowler hat, is all set to paint the house in this cheerful Level 1 reader. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAWING LESSONS FROM A BEAR by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2000

"The low-key but powerful message of personal affirmation that runs throughout is one all parents will welcome and all children appreciate. (Don't miss the drawing lessons on the endpapers, either.) (Picture book. 4-8)"
McPhail, master of bear stories, tells what could be his own in this gentle urging to be true to one's calling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDWARD IN THE JUNGLE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2001

"Children with a taste for danger will be happy to follow Edward wherever his reading takes him, or to take the hint and get lost in their own favorite stories. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Using underlighting and close shadows to give the art an air of fire-lit mystery, McPhail strands the bookish protagonist of, most recently, Edward and the Pirates (1997) in Tarzan territory, where he's rescued from a crocodile by the Lord of the Jungle himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FARM BOY'S YEAR by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 1992

"Popular though McPhail may be, how could a responsible editor pass along this thoughtless nostalgia? (Picture book. 4-8)"
A diary-style text plus a drawing and a luminous painting for each month a century ago in coastal Newburyport, Massachusetts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIGS APLENTY, PIGS GALORE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1993

The narrator—rendered in McPhail's trademark style as an appealing, vulnerable man—is peacefully reading when his home is invaded by pigs: ``Pigs in tutus,/Pigs in kilts,/Pigs on skateboards,/Pigs on stilts./Pigs from England,/Pigs from France,/Pigs in just/Their underpants.'' Coming by a fantastical variety of transport (e.g., a parachute, and the mammoth ship ``S. S. Swine''), the motley crowd gets right down to the business of gorging on a giant stack of pizzas, which they chomp, play with, and fling about but don't share with the narrator (``I get nothing,/Just the bill''). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I HUG  by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"Ideal for the newest of new readers, this tender title's usefulness may be limited to a very narrow developmental window, but it'll do yeoman work within it. (Early reader. 4-8)"
McPhail's newest in the I Like to Read series hinges on pivot grammar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEATRIX POTTER AND HER PAINTBOX by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Humble and lovely. (Picture book/biography. 3-6)"
A small girl named Beatrix Potter spends her childhood painting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER LOVES PENGUIN by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A sweet addition to a winning series. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A little boy and his stuffed penguin enjoy an early-morning romp in the snow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I PLAY by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 28, 2015

"Despite the brevity of the text, the humor embedded in the illustrations will engage even adults, who will doubtless be asked to 'read it again.' (Board book. 1-3)"
Find a baby and play together with this board book geared to the attention spans of very young children. Read full book review >