Search Results: "David Smith"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 27, 2013

"Well-researched, exciting and thoughtful about the real losses of war."
In 1697, two 12-year-old boys—one French, one English—ship out to Hudson Bay in this YA novel based on historical events. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 1, 2012

"A comprehensive guide for those seeking an in-depth examination of their own anger."
A debut self-help workbook aimed at helping readers understand and control their anger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Where There's Dark... by David Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 5, 2016

"A brief, but detailed and complex reevaluation of the fundamentals of physics."
An engineer proposes a different understanding of the formation of the universe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARAVAGGIO by Mark David Smith
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 15, 2016

"Combining the timeless allure of action and young-love romance with the historically accurate and turbulent life of the painter Caravaggio, this story succeeds on all levels. (Historical fiction. 12-15)"
Late Renaissance Italy comes to life in this upper-middle-grade novel featuring the painter Caravaggio and a young friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE CUBE by David Alexander Smith
Released: Aug. 1, 1993

"Hard-working, inventive, and colorful, but also uncontrolled- -with far too many different aliens, improbable sleuthing, and a general air of futuristic soap opera."
Science-fiction detective yarn set in a medium-future Boston literally crawling with weird aliens: Smith's hardcover debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF by David J.  Smith
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2014

"If this book were a pizza, young readers would gobble down every slice—and demand more for dessert. (Informational picture book. 7-10)"
Continuing his exploration of the mind-expanding possibilities of scale modeling, Smith extends the premise of If America Were a Village (2009) to encompass life, time and the universe. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 5, 2014

"Thoughtfully counsels readers to find the complements to their strengths: to be direct and adaptable, passionate and compromising, and decisive and thorough."
Smith and Marcum submit a work in progress that seeks to define genuine confidence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Smith writes clearly for the lay reader, so a background in the sciences is not required—though a strong stomach is."
The roots of war lie in the evolutionary history of our species, according to arguments forcefully presented here by the director of the University of New England's Institute for Cognitive Science and Evolutionary Psychology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAR CRY by Wilbur Smith
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 2017

"Occasionally melodramatic, sometimes grandiloquent; those who liked Wouk's War and Remembrance will certainly enjoy this Smith saga."
Continuing Smith's Courtney family epic (Assegai, 2009, etc.), this novel focuses on big-game hunter Leon and his daughter, Saffron, during the post-World War I era, first on their great Kenya estate, Lusima, and then as they move toward the bloody fray that became World War II. Read full book review >