Search Results: "David Wishart"


BOOK REVIEW

GERMANICUS by David Wishart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2003

"Classics scholar Wishart gets a little lost in his labyrinthine plot but provides ample historical color to smooth the slow journey to a solution."
I, Claudius provides a jumping-off point for the second installment in Wishart's Ancient Rome mystery series, the first to appear in the US, featuring apolitical nobleman and amateur sleuth Marcus Corvinus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARTHIAN SHOT by David Wishart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Marcus' fourth appearance (Last Rites, 2003, etc.) provides the series' best balance of mystery and history yet."
When a foreign prince survives a murder attempt, ancient Rome's shrewdest and most sardonic detective is enlisted to insure there won't be another. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOOD FOR THE FISHES by David Wishart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2005

"Wishart continues to entertain with a droll first-person narrative and a solid puzzle."
Wishart's Roman nobleman risks his life as he probes the murder of an unpopular business magnate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOLID CITIZENS by David Wishart
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2013

"Corvinus' wry first-person narrative holds his 15th whodunit together. Wishart adds his usual evocative historical touches, including a detailed map of the gated Bovillae."
What happens in Bovillae stays in Bovillae...until a prominent politician is found brutally beaten there, mere steps from a brothel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST RITES by David Wishart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 2003

"As before, Marcus' droll observations about Roman life and sexually charged repartee with Perilla are more entertaining than the shaggy, lukewarm whodunit."
Ancient Roman nobleman Marcus Valerius Corvinus is again pressed into unwilling service as a sleuth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ILLEGALLY DEAD by David Wishart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Rich with historical detail (including a lengthy author's note about Roman cookery), but essentially a solid traditional whodunit with a customary parade of suspects and a thickening plot, as well as the culminating deduction, lengthily explained."
When a lawyer is poisoned, Imperial Rome offers no dearth of suspects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 10, 2007

"A loving portrait of one man and an accessible account of what cancer is, where research and treatment are now and how they got there."
London-based documentary filmmaker Wishart (Leaving Reality Behind, 2003) weaves his father's story into a medical history that traces cancer from its earliest appearance to the present hopes for a cure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"The freedom and inclusivity of the Internet still has life, write Wishart and Bochsler, even as its economic side makes seismic shifts. (Photographs)"
Filmmaker Wishart and reporter Bochsler throw light on the Internet's evolution from fertile idea to commercial juggernaut as they look at a David-vs.-Goliath domain-name fight. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DAVID OWEN
by Alex Layman

The American West has long been a place of myth and wonder, of dramatic canyons, mesas, and mountain ranges. These dramatic landscapes have wooed Americans for centuries, and The New Yorker’s David Owen isn’t immune to its siren song. Though Owen has lived in Connecticut for most of his adult life, he spent the summers of his youth in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DAVID SAMUEL LEVINSON
by James McDonald

“I'm just furious,” David Samuel Levinson says, agitation lending his voice both energy and an edge. “I'm furious that we have to talk about this in 2017.” It was less than a month into the new administration when we discussed his novel, Tell Me How This Ends Well, and the dangerous implications for minority groups of ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YA
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I don’t read a lot of Young Adult/New Adult books, but I’ve become a fan of Huntley Fitzpatrick.

I think I’ve read all of her books now (and hope a new one is coming out soon!).

I just finished What I Thought Was True, and I invite you all to read it!

Sometimes, with YA, I feel ...


Read the full post >