Search Results: "Deborah Allwright"


BOOK REVIEW

SHE’LL BE COMING ’ROUND THE MOUNTAIN by Jonathan Emmett
ANIMALS
Released: April 10, 2007

"Yee-Ha! (Picture book. 4-7)"
Sing along, dance along and follow the adventures of rootin' tootin' frontier Babe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHT PIRATES by Peter Harris
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2006

"Pirate fans of both sexes will enjoy this rollicking, high-seas caper. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Harris's tale offers a swashbuckling adventure with a twist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA, NO! by Edward Hardy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 13, 2012

"Still, a delicious tone and the perfect illustrator are sure to make this a beloved story in many a household (odd ending or no). (Picture book. 4-8)"
A sweet disposition combined with a penchant for mass destruction drives this sweet if mildly flawed tale of a nanny and her overly enthusiastic young charge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T READ THIS BOOK! by Jill Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Lewis's playful premise has promise and some delicious moments but, in hitting the same comic notes over and over, fails to take flight. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The King hijacks a book...the very book in the reader's hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FOX IN THE DARK by Alison Green
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Just right for a bedtime story. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fear of the fox makes strange bedfellows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAUR STARTS SCHOOL by Pamela Duncan Edwards
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"While most readers will recognize just who occupies which role in this small fear-buster, they'll be happy enough to let it unfold. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A series of what-ifs posits a timid stegosaurus whose little boy must guide him gently through the first day of school, defusing his anxiety at every step. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHT PIRATES by Peter Harris
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"Avast! No treasure is safe from these diminutive daredevils of the deep. (Pop-up/picture book. 3-6)"
Large pop-ups and multilayered tableaux gas up an already effervescent tale of pirate adventure from 2006. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF FISH AND SNAIL by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2013

"This marvelous metabook shines in both concept and beauty. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Right from the title page, Freedman's latest makes a splash. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCRIBBLE by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2007

Two children's drawings come to life in a clear case of, as the blurb so aptly puts it, "scribbling rivalry." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LIFE IN PICTURES by Deborah Zemke
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"Readers will find inspiration to write, draw, explore, and imagine. (Fiction. 6-8)"
Zemke introduces a creative, young protagonist whose skilled artistry captures imagination in a new series for early readers. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >