Search Results: "Deborah Anderson"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 3, 1993

"Still, their friends and caregivers will want to know about it, and the basic premise will be welcome to many."
A study of divorced older women that has important things to say to them—above all, that their lives may just be beginning anew after the long hiatuses of their marriages. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STORY COUNTY by Derek Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"Chicken rocking her eggs to sleep, here's a cheery invitation to children to imagine stories or story stages of their own. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In a fit of metafictional worldbuilding, Farmer and four animals march gaily onto blank pages and proceed in steps to build a barn, pour out brown fields (from a bag of "Instant Farm Field"), plant tall cornstalks and haystacks, erect a scarecrow (a princess, thanks to Miss Cow) and finally paint in an evening sky. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPACE PIRATES AND THE MONSTER OF MALSWOMP by Scoular Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"The didactic purpose is well-disguised, though, beneath a barrage of silly names and cliffhangers. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The food-loving computer and multispecies crew of pirate ship Sleepy Sheep land on planet Pancayke in search of hidden treasure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DAY AT THE MARKET by Sara Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2006

"Despite some specific signage, the setting is generalized enough to stand in for similar markets almost anywhere, and the kaleidoscopic art nicely captures both the venue's characteristic bustle and its rich sensory experience. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Bright, cut-paper-style illustrations compensate for decidedly patchwork rhyming in this affectionate tribute to Seattle's Pike Place Market. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE BURT AND WIGGLES by Derek Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"A pure pleasure. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Two best friends fail to keep summer from ending, but won't let winter end their friendship. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY HEART IS BROKEN, BUT MY RESOLVE IS NOT
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 2 - Eleventy Billion
Talky Talk: Switcheroo
Bonus Factor:
 Untold Stories
Relationship Status: Actually, Could You Introduce Me to Your (Nonfiction) Friend?

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face

As stunning – and familiar – as this is ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE'S NEW PET by Brian Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"Creepy, kooky and deftly delivered, this dark story offers a bright ending for readers who might think they've just outgrown fairy tales. (Picture book. 5-10)"
When the Queen died and her bereft king banished color from the kingdom, Prince Viridian's world turned the gloomiest gray. A mysterious present (a cute, colorful creature called a wooglefoof) crashes his birthday party and changes all that, spiriting its garish stripes across the castle and sending the king's Color Snatcher in fiendish, feverish pursuit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLADYS GOES OUT TO LUNCH by Derek Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"Like Gladys's bananas, Anderson's story is simple comfort food, with eye-candy artwork providing a welcome dash of spice. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Gladys is a gorilla (never mind that she's purple, for there is more color on these pages than a harlequin's Technicolor dream coat). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW THE EASTER BUNNY SAVED CHRISTMAS by Derek Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"A fast pace, broad humor and silly puns add to the effort, as do the super-sized illustrations in neon-bright, jewel tones, but the overall effect is rather frenetic. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When Santa is injured by a falling toy train on Christmas Eve, Mrs. Claus phones the Easter Bunny to save the day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2009

"Important research impressively assembled."
A husband-and-wife writing team present persuasive evidence of Ronald Reagan's decisive role in ending the Cold War. Read full book review >