Search Results: "Deborah Bodin Cohen"


BOOK REVIEW

ENGINEER ARI AND THE PASSOVER RUSH by Deborah Bodin Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"Children and adults will be charmed by the latest in this amiable series. (glossary, author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
On his last run to Jerusalem before the Passover holiday, Engineer Ari manages to gather all the necessary items for his Seder plate, arriving home exhausted just before the holiday's ceremonial dinner begins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NACHSHON, WHO WAS AFRAID TO SWIM by Deborah Bodin Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"Still, a good addition to the holiday canon. (Picture book/religion. 6-9)"
"Brave Nachshon," afraid only of swimming, and his family have been slaves in Egypt for generations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENGINEER ARI AND THE SUKKAH EXPRESS by Deborah Bodin Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"An author's note provides background on the original Jerusalem-to-Jaffa line. (glossary) (Picture book/religion. 3-6)"
Engineer Ari, the first conductor of the new train from Jaffa to Jerusalem, builds a Sukkah with friends Nathaniel and Jesse using wood left over from laying the new tracks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENGINEER ARIELLE AND THE ISRAEL INDEPENDENCE DAY SURPRISE by Deborah Bodin Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"All is happy and peaceful on this springtime Israeli holiday. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
A sister and brother celebrate Israel's Independence Day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2014

"If Cohen's book can get more obese people onboard that aforementioned bus, perhaps the conversation can finally move forward."
What can be done about "the public health crisis of our time"? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ONE AND ONLY ZOË LAMA by Tish Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2008

Readers will fairly hear a laugh track in the background of this pleasant-enough tween-girl-sitcom-script of a story, companion to 2007's The Invisible Rules of the Zoë Lama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDDY’S DREAM by Miriam Cohen
Released: Nov. 1, 2000

"A chorus of lively, informative voices waiting to be discovered by those who make the effort to listen. (Poetry. 9+)"
Katz has experimented with writing poems in the voices of Americans of the past, utilizing this approach with original poems in American History Poems (1998). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JACOB'S LITTLE SISTER by Miriam Cohen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2014

"The sweet sibling relationship and the focus on Daddy as primary caregiver make this one stand out. (Board book. 2-4)"
Big brother Jacob helps Daddy take care of mischievous Little Sister in the newest offering in the Backpack Baby board-book series. Read full book review >