Search Results: "Deborah Cadbury"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 10, 2015

"A lively tale of monarchical machinations, more familiar to American readers since The King's Speech."
A spirited historical lesson that traces how the fallout from the abdication crisis of Edward VIII in 1936 ultimately aided England in its finest hour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 26, 2010

"A fine pocket history of corporate confectionery, though there's still room for a less Cadbury-focused entry."
The tale of the surprisingly cutthroat world of corporate chocolate-making, influenced by religion, science, slavery and globalization. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN VICTORIA'S MATCHMAKING by Deborah Cadbury
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"An instructive European history that effectively shows 'the influence of [Victoria's] matchmaking on the remarkable rise of the royal dynasty.'"
Digging deeper into Queen Victoria's extensive brood, their intermarriages, and their wars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 6, 2001

"A scholarly account infused with a rare drama and suspense: read it not only for the science, but to learn what happened to all these wonderful characters."
An absorbing account of the pioneer 19th-century British geologists and fossil collectors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2006

"First-rate research and reporting."
A swift, exciting history of the race to the moon, from Sputnik to "The Eagle has landed." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BY MOUSE AND FROG by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2015

"An elegant, exuberant portrayal of stylistic differences and child-writer passion. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mouse wants to tell a simple, gentle story, but Frog bounces in and stirs it up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIDDLE OF THE NILE by Deborah Nash
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"Factual information presented, however brief, could be enhanced with a short bibliography or suggested reading list, as Tamar Bower does in the more authentic-looking and beautiful rendition of the story, How the Amazon Queen Fought the Prince of Egypt (2005). (Picture book. 5-7)"
Eager to prove his wisdom and worthiness to become King of the Nile, Baby Crocodile swims up the river in search of the answer to Crookedy Crocodile's riddle (the classic St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF FISH AND SNAIL by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2013

"This marvelous metabook shines in both concept and beauty. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Right from the title page, Freedman's latest makes a splash. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCRIBBLE by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2007

Two children's drawings come to life in a clear case of, as the blurb so aptly puts it, "scribbling rivalry." Read full book review >