Search Results: "Deborah Heiligman"


BOOK REVIEW

INTENTIONS by Deborah Heiligman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 14, 2012

"A modestly daring coming-of-age tale with a (presumably) unintentionally preachy tone. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Shockingly, Rachel overhears her rabbi having sex in the sanctuary of her synagogue before confirmation class. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2007

"Glossary, bibliography, websites and a map noting the sites of each photograph complete this handsome Holidays Around the World edition. (Nonfiction. 4-10)"
This beautiful explanation of the Jewish High Holy Days depicts the celebration and observance from a global perspective in a colorful, clean photographic design. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

This rich, insightful portrait of Charles and Emma Darwin's marriage explores a dimension of the naturalist's life that has heretofore been largely ignored. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VINCENT AND THEO by Deborah Heiligman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 18, 2017

"A remarkably insightful, profoundly moving story of fraternal interdependence and unconditional love. (timeline, author's note, biography, source notes, index) (Biography. 14-18)"
As she did in Charles and Emma (2009), her biography of the Darwins, Heiligman renders a nuanced portrait of the complex, devoted, and enduring relationship between the Van Gogh brothers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABIES by Deborah Heiligman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Hello toddler.' (Nonfiction. 4-8)"
A satisfying introduction to babies from birth to toddler that explores how they grow, what they see and hear, why they look like their parents and more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COOL DOG, SCHOOL DOG by Deborah Heiligman
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Bowers's goofy, energetic illustrations to make this gentle piece of propaganda go down easy. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Tinka the dog returns for a romp through school that starts badly but ends well (Fun Dog, Sun Dog, 2005). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 11, 2013

"Social learners and budding math lovers alike will find something awesome about this exceptional man. (Picture book/biography. 3-9)"
An exuberant and admiring portrait introduces the odd, marvelously nerdy, way cool Hungarian-born itinerant mathematical genius. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT I'M WATCHING FOR IN APRIL 2017
by Leila Roy

Now that we’ve made it through April Fools’ Day mostly unscathed (I hope?), let’s take a look at some of this month’s upcoming books:

What Girls Are Made Of, by Elana K. Arnold

Earlier this year, Elana K. Arnold brought us A Boy Called Bat, a gentle, smart, funny, and utterly lovely middle grade book about a boy and a ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SEVEN IMPOSSIBLY GOOD BITS OF BOOK NEWS
by Julie Danielson

Is the news getting you down? Are you experiencing a bit of a summer slump? (Here in the South anyway we are halfway done with summer break.) Or just ennui in general? I’ll be the first to raise my hand and answer my own questions: yes to all of the above!

When this happens, I like to think about the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BOOKS TO FALL FOR
by Julie Danielson

I know we haven’t seen Summer picture book releases yet, so forgive me, but I’m looking at my stack of Fall picture book F&Gs and wanting to write a sneak-peek about some books I’m excited to see. F&Gs, for those who may think I’m suddenly and inexplicably cursing (“F&Gs” has always sounded like that to me), are early, pre-bound versions ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >