Search Results: "Deborah Henry"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WHIPPING CLUB by Deborah Henry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 15, 2012

"A powerful saga of love and survival."
Inspired by her heritage and research of the Irish Industrial School system, Henry's auspicious debut chronicles a couple's attempt to save their son from horrific institutions. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIFT BOX by Rohan Henry
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The open-ended finish is ingenious and satisfies without being too neat; young listeners may respond to the cue to come up with Ollie's dearly-wished-for response, or they may come up with creative ones of their own. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Elephants have a storied history in children's literature, from beloved Babar all the way up to Mo Willems' current kid-favorite Gerald. Here, a new elephant family enters the pantheon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUDY by Henry Cole
by Henry Cole, illustrated by Henry Cole
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"The deceptively simple story gently nudges children to look at and appreciate animals as more than just barnyard fixtures. (Picture book. 4-8)"
At the country auction, Esme and Grandfather find just the right animal for them: "Not too big, not too small. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"A rare gift: a novel with artwork as whole and vital as a picture book's. (afterword) (Animal fantasy. 6-10)"
Starting outside a house, the reader's viewpoint moves indoors page by page until there "sat Celeste, hunched over her work table" under the floorboards. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE WAY TO THE BEACH by Henry Cole
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"Perfect for introducing youngsters to the world around them, and especially appropriate for anyone who visits or lives near the seashore. (answer key) (Picture book. 4-12)"
The mid-Atlantic coast with its myriad plants and animals comes to life in this marvelous search-and-find book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JACK'S GARDEN by Henry Cole
FICTION
Released: April 1, 1995

"Capped by a lively and elegant design, the book should supplement to an elementary science lesson; what Jack's Garden lacks in personality, it more than makes up for in attention to detail. (Picture book. 3+)"
Cole mimics the cumulative technique of ``The House That Jack Built'' to describe the garden the eponymous hero might tend in his backyard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FURIOUS COOL by David  Henry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"A mixed bag but worth reading. Those who do will be inspired to give Pryor's concert films fresh screenings."
Biography of the comedic genius, anticipating the authors' in-the-works film script on Pryor's work and hard times. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST BOOK OF ANCIENT ROME by Deborah Murrell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

Murrell packs an awful lot in this 30-page survey of the City of the Seven Hills (pages 31 and 32 contain a brief glossary and index). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADE IN CHINA by Deborah Nash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"For a (somewhat) less superficial answer to the dragon's riddle, with similar glimpses into Chinese life, stick with Ying Chang Compestine's Story of Paper (2003), or conventional nonfiction. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Using cut-paper figures in, or at least reminiscent of, traditional styles, Nash lights briefly on Chinese history, folklore, culture, and geography. Read full book review >