Search Results: "Deborah J. Kops"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT MOLASSES FLOOD by Deborah J. Kops
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"A fascinating account of a truly bizarre disaster. (index) (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
Imagine a 40-foot wall of molasses turning a harborside neighborhood upside down. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"A rich, fascinating, and inspiring account of a tireless champion for women's rights. (photos, source notes, bibliography) (Biography. 11-18)"
Alice Paul lacks the name recognition of fellow suffragists Susan B. Anthony or Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but this lucid, inspiring portrait reveals her noteworthy contributions to women's rights. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RANDOMNESS by Deborah J. Bennett
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1998

"A clear and detailed examination of the role of pure chance, with fascinating historical asides. (32 illustrations, not seen)"
Probabilities and statistics dominate our lives, yet few of us really understand them; here's an attempt to shed some light. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 31, 2011

"Fine fantasy that borrows too much from Lewis Carroll when it should invest in itself."
A teenage girl runs away from her life of servitude only to be captured by a sorcerer who will help her discover her true past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 14, 1993

Surveying 902 female graduates of Harvard's business, law, and medical schools over a ten-year period, Swiss (an independent consultant) and Walker (a consultant for child care at Harvard) conclude that few have it all—that even wealthy, educated, married women pay professional penalties for having families. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST BOOK OF ANCIENT ROME by Deborah Murrell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

Murrell packs an awful lot in this 30-page survey of the City of the Seven Hills (pages 31 and 32 contain a brief glossary and index). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADE IN CHINA by Deborah Nash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"For a (somewhat) less superficial answer to the dragon's riddle, with similar glimpses into Chinese life, stick with Ying Chang Compestine's Story of Paper (2003), or conventional nonfiction. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Using cut-paper figures in, or at least reminiscent of, traditional styles, Nash lights briefly on Chinese history, folklore, culture, and geography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE’S CHAIR by Deborah Niland
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"Niland's lighthearted tale carries a simple message about the art of sharing that toddlers are bound to enjoy. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A battle of wills reaches epic proportions when a determined tot and an intransigent pup have a standoff regarding a favored chair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

URSA'S LIGHT by Deborah Marcero
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2016

"If (pigs and) bears could fly—but try as this book might, it can't quite get off the ground. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A dream to fly is fulfilled in an unexpected fashion. Read full book review >