Search Results: "Deborah Johnson"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET OF MAGIC by Deborah Johnson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 21, 2014

"Passionate but never didactic, Johnson wisely allows the novel's politics to play second fiddle to the intimate, nuanced drama of the young black Yankee and middle-aged white Southerner in this provocative story about race in America that becomes a deeply felt metaphor for all human relationships."
Mississippi-based author Johnson's second novel (The Air Between Us, 2008). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STUCK IS NOT A FOUR-LETTER WORD by Deborah Johnson
Released: July 8, 2013

"An engaging seven-step plan for tackling seemingly insurmountable problems."
A personal self-help guide to becoming "unstuck" inbusiness and in life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AIR BETWEEN US by Deborah Johnson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"In this engaging if oddly benign and probably revisionist take on the civil-rights upheaval, Mississippians cross racial lines with ease."
A disarmingly sanguine first novel about the citizens, black and white, of a small Mississippi town as they prepare for the coming integration of their schools in 1966. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BY MOUSE AND FROG by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2015

"An elegant, exuberant portrayal of stylistic differences and child-writer passion. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mouse wants to tell a simple, gentle story, but Frog bounces in and stirs it up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIDDLE OF THE NILE by Deborah Nash
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"Factual information presented, however brief, could be enhanced with a short bibliography or suggested reading list, as Tamar Bower does in the more authentic-looking and beautiful rendition of the story, How the Amazon Queen Fought the Prince of Egypt (2005). (Picture book. 5-7)"
Eager to prove his wisdom and worthiness to become King of the Nile, Baby Crocodile swims up the river in search of the answer to Crookedy Crocodile's riddle (the classic St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST BOOK OF ANCIENT ROME by Deborah Murrell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

Murrell packs an awful lot in this 30-page survey of the City of the Seven Hills (pages 31 and 32 contain a brief glossary and index). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADE IN CHINA by Deborah Nash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"For a (somewhat) less superficial answer to the dragon's riddle, with similar glimpses into Chinese life, stick with Ying Chang Compestine's Story of Paper (2003), or conventional nonfiction. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Using cut-paper figures in, or at least reminiscent of, traditional styles, Nash lights briefly on Chinese history, folklore, culture, and geography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF FISH AND SNAIL by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2013

"This marvelous metabook shines in both concept and beauty. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Right from the title page, Freedman's latest makes a splash. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCRIBBLE by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2007

Two children's drawings come to life in a clear case of, as the blurb so aptly puts it, "scribbling rivalry." Read full book review >