Search Results: "Deborah Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

MOURAD by Mourad Lahlou
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"As precious (and precocious) as he may sound, Lahlou's recipes, when followed accurately, are exciting and deliciously new."
Authentic Moroccan cuisine as interpreted by one of America's up-and-coming young chefs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHALK RAINBOW by Deborah Kelly
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2017

"A trifle loosely rendered but clever and perceptive. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A child finds an imaginative way to help her autistic little brother cope with his aversion to an all too common hue. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BY MOUSE AND FROG by Deborah Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 14, 2015

"An elegant, exuberant portrayal of stylistic differences and child-writer passion. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mouse wants to tell a simple, gentle story, but Frog bounces in and stirs it up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIDDLE OF THE NILE by Deborah Nash
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"Factual information presented, however brief, could be enhanced with a short bibliography or suggested reading list, as Tamar Bower does in the more authentic-looking and beautiful rendition of the story, How the Amazon Queen Fought the Prince of Egypt (2005). (Picture book. 5-7)"
Eager to prove his wisdom and worthiness to become King of the Nile, Baby Crocodile swims up the river in search of the answer to Crookedy Crocodile's riddle (the classic St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST BOOK OF ANCIENT ROME by Deborah Murrell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

Murrell packs an awful lot in this 30-page survey of the City of the Seven Hills (pages 31 and 32 contain a brief glossary and index). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADE IN CHINA by Deborah Nash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"For a (somewhat) less superficial answer to the dragon's riddle, with similar glimpses into Chinese life, stick with Ying Chang Compestine's Story of Paper (2003), or conventional nonfiction. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Using cut-paper figures in, or at least reminiscent of, traditional styles, Nash lights briefly on Chinese history, folklore, culture, and geography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY ABC by Deborah Donenfeld
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 10, 2013

"A playful package that could have used more multicultural representation. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
In black-and-white photos, babies cavort through the alphabet accompanied by brightly colored objects and accessories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN COCO WAS A KITTEN by Deborah Niland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"For young preschoolers, it will be a good, brief lead-in to such standards as Margaret Miller's Now I'm Big (1996). (Ages 3-4)"
A broadly beaming black-and-white cat with yellow, lamp-like eyes takes center stage as her adoring owner, a little girl, describes her growth: "When Coco was a kitten, she looked like a tiny ball of fluff. / … / Now Coco is a big, grown-up cat. / She can walk on a wall and not fall off," and so on. Read full book review >