Search Results: "Deborah Lynn Jacobs"


BOOK REVIEW

CHOICES by Deborah Lynn Jacobs
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Kathleen's melancholic tale does justice both to the moving story of a girl coming to terms with the death of her brother and to the magical adventure of a universe-shifting girl trying to find her way home. (Fantasy. 12-14)"
After the death of her brother Nick, Kathleen starts slipping between similar worlds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POWERS by Deborah Lynn Jacobs
FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Jacobs writes Gwen's chapters in past tense and Adrian's in present, which is distracting; otherwise, a bewitchingly pulpy and enjoyable fast read. (Fantasy. YA)"
Two teenagers make sparks fly . . . really! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON ANGELS' WINGS by Deborah Lynn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 19, 2017

"A brief, moving hybrid work that pays tribute to one woman and her daughter."
Lynn's debut memoir shares her struggle to care for her mother, whose mind slowly disintegrated from Alzheimer's disease. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTHDAY ZOO by Deborah Lee Rose
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"What's more, kids will get an introduction to animals that aren't found in the standard farmyard—tapirs, swifts, and all the above—in addition to revisiting old familiars: monkeys, moose, bears, and snails. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A cheerful, rhymed birthday celebration for a young boy staged by the animals of a zoo. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 10, 2012

"Fans of historical fiction may especially appreciate this entertaining recreation of Schubert's life; familiarity with the composer and his music is not a prerequisite."
Jacobs' historical novel details the life of Franz Schubert. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUINEA PIG DIARIES by A.J. Jacobs
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 8, 2009

"A lightweight but endearing and nimble look at how pursuing absurd extremes can illuminate the more mundane aspects of contemporary existence."
Esquire editor at large Jacobs (The Year of Living Biblically, 2007, etc.) continues his unique brand of immersion journalism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMFORT FOOD by Kate Jacobs
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2008

"Not quite as satisfying as the title would lead us to expect."
The lives and loves of a TV chef, her daughters, neighbor and associates all receive a makeover in this lighthearted but sometimes sagging romantic problem-solver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HANDFUL OF KINGS by Mark Jacobs
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Either too short or far too long: all setup and terribly little payoff."
A kidnapping brings together a spy, an acclaimed novelist, and a diplomat—in a less-than-thrilling thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PLAN by Bernard Jacobs
Released: Dec. 31, 2011

"An engaging, conspiracy-laden tale with a frightening premise."
In this action-packed thriller, a charismatic American president with a secret agenda sets in play a global war against radical Islamists. Read full book review >