Search Results: "Deborah Yaffe"


BOOK REVIEW

AMONG THE JANEITES by Deborah Yaffe
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"Yaffe honors her hero throughout: a smart reader and a shrewd but sympathetic judge of character who knows that Austenophilia has its own laws of attraction."
A witty expedition into the wilds of Austen City Limits, where there's no such thing as being too obsessed with the author of Pride and Prejudice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOM AMONG THE LIARS by James Yaffe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 23, 1992

"The usual mix of Mom's Yiddish shtick, Dave's guilt-ridden inability to reason as she does, and some mildly interesting characters—all in a low-key, amiable, but unexciting story."
Once again, Mom's the sleuth who solves the case for son Dave, investigator for public defender Ann Swenson in Mesa Grande, Colorado (Mom Doth Murder Sleep, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECKLESS DAUGHTER by David Yaffe
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 17, 2017

"Mitchell deserves more musically sophisticated treatment, though this is serviceable enough as a straight fan-notes homage. Readers wanting to go deeper into the art would do better to start with Malka Marom's Joni Mitchell: In Her Own Words (2014)."
A new biography of the luminous folk singer and musical icon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL JOSEPH WANTED by Ruth Yaffe Radin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 30, 1991

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 7-12)"
The fact that sixth-grader Joseph's mother can't read is not just an inconvenience to her—it makes it almost impossible for her to get a job, since she can't fill out forms or negotiate public transportation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOM DOTH MURDER SLEEP by James Yaffe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 21, 1991

"The denouement is relentlessly overdrawn; motivation for the killer's elaborate, reckless plan seems absurdly feeble; the split narration, alternating between Dave and Roger, is no help, and Mom's getting to be a downright bore."
Transplanted New York cop Dave, now chief investigator for Public Defender Anne Swenson in Mesa Grande, Colorado, has hired young Roger Meyer (Mom Meets Her Maker) to assist him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOB DYLAN by David Yaffe
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 24, 2011

"Not for the neophyte, but fascinating for obsessives who think they know everything and want to know more."
A slim volume of essays adds more than a footnote to the long shelf of Dylan books. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

DEBORAH WILLIS
by Megan Labrise

Don’t be afraid of The Dark and Other Love Stories but be warned: Deborah Willis’s delectable fictions aren’t amorous confections.

“I think that title is a bit misleading—actually, I know it is,” says Willis, by phone from home in Calgary. “A lot of people, when I tell them the title say, That sounds so lovely! I can’t wait!” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ESCAPE TO THE FOREST by Ruth Yaffe Radin
Released: March 31, 2000

"Compelling reading for the young. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-10)"
PLB 0-06-028521-4 From Radin (All Joseph Wanted, 1991), a short, accessible novel that could serve as a introduction to the realities of the Holocaust. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE CHICKEN by Deborah Freedman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Delicate and durable, visually sophisticated yet friendly: simply exquisite. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Breathtakingly beautiful meta-illustrations will draw many eyes to this tale of a curious chicken who spills some paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST BOOK OF ANCIENT ROME by Deborah Murrell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

Murrell packs an awful lot in this 30-page survey of the City of the Seven Hills (pages 31 and 32 contain a brief glossary and index). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MADE IN CHINA by Deborah Nash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"For a (somewhat) less superficial answer to the dragon's riddle, with similar glimpses into Chinese life, stick with Ying Chang Compestine's Story of Paper (2003), or conventional nonfiction. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Using cut-paper figures in, or at least reminiscent of, traditional styles, Nash lights briefly on Chinese history, folklore, culture, and geography. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A LITERARY SECURITY BLANKET
by Leila Roy

I have a problem, and I suspect that some of you out there might suffer from it, too: there are too many books in my bag.

I try to keep their numbers down—after all, I really only bring my bag to work with me, and I work less than ten miles from home—but no matter how many times I empty ...


Read the full post >