Search Results: "Debra Reid Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Despite the devastating ending, this touching tale of quiet bravery has universal appeal. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The phenomenal but often unnoticed heroism of many recent immigrants' journeys to freedom is recorded in this remarkable tale of a young Korean girl's escape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WANTED TO KNOW ALL ABOUT GOD by Virginia L. Kroll
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 1994

"An attractive discussion opener. (Picture book. 3-7)"
``I wondered if God is strong, and the ocean roared in my ears.'' ``I wondered if God is caring, and the new boy shared his crayons with me.'' Through a dozen such observations, Kroll builds the idea that God's attributes can be discovered in many ways in ``His Creation,'' in the natural world and in people's generosity and love—a kindly, all-embracing, nonsectarian view of a deity whose likes include children of different colors, as shown in Jenkins's lush, sun-dappled paintings of glowing kids enjoying a snowy day, admiring a spider's web, or wrapped in Grandma's embrace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREVER, INTERRUPTED by Taylor Jenkins Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 9, 2013

"A moving novel about life and death."
A debut love story from Los Angeles-based Reid. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE by Taylor Jenkins Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"Entertaining and unpredictable; Reid makes a compelling argument for happiness in every life."
Reid's latest (After I Do, 2014, etc.) explores two parallel universes in which a young woman hopes to find her soul mate and change her life for the better. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER I DO by Taylor Jenkins Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2014

"Reid's tome on married life is as uplifting as it is brutally honest—a must-read for anyone who is in (or hopes to be in) a committed relationship."
An unhappily married couple spends a year apart in Reid's (Forever, Interrupted, 2013) novel about second chances. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO by Taylor Jenkins Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2017

"Reid's heroine reveals her darkest secrets as if she were wiping off makeup at the end of the night—a celebration of human frailty that speaks to the Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor in us all."
An aging starlet with seven marriages behind her generously offers the rights to her memoir to an inexperienced writer—at a heartbreaking cost. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIKE by Debra Frasier
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Brilliant. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Spike, an abandoned "Ugliest Dog in the Universe"-contest winner, finds love and a new home in this heartwarming tale about beauty—and its many permutations. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A FABULOUS FAIR ALPHABET by Debra Frasier
ABC BOOKS
Released: June 22, 2010

"All together, this themed abecedary whirls like a Ferris wheel. (Picture book. 7-10)"
For kids who have never been to a country fair, this montage of alphabet letters in various graphic styles that represent items and impressions of a fair may, like a first-time midway experience, be sensory overload. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT KIND OF DOG by Debra Wainwright
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2009

"Plodding dialogue, unexceptional illustrations and the lack of a strong main character make this a less-than-engaging effort. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Mary Constance has a problem with her dog, Bramble. Read full book review >