Search Results: "Dewey Lambdin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE INVASION YEAR by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"A pleasant blend of light humor, drama and cracking historical naval action—another solid entry in the series."
Lambdin's rough-but-lovable rascal Captain Alan Lewrie (King, Ship, and Sword, 2010, etc.) returns for a 17th installment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 26, 2008

"Intimate portrait of a place snugly set within its historical moment, preserved in Myron's understated, well-polished prose."
An abandoned kitten serves as balm, comic relief and social director to a hard-pressed Midwestern town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOSTILE SHORES by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"More of the same: great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forrester."
The further nautical adventures of Lambdin's (Reefs and Shoals, 2012, etc.) Capt. Sir Alan Lewrie, baronet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

H.M.S. COCKEREL by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 25, 1995

"Great fun for the amateur military historianwith the whole of the Napoleonic Wars still to come."
Reluctant British naval officer Alan Lewrie (The Gun Ketch, 1993, etc.) assists in the defense of Toulon at the beginning of England's war with revolutionary France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REEFS AND SHOALS by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2012

"Aye, sir. Lewrie's a worthy shipmate for Aubry and Hornblower."
Lambdin (The Invasion Year, 2011, etc.) spins another salt-spray-in-the-face sea yarn, a tale of Captain Lewrie in command of the good ship Reliant and in pursuit of privateers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KING’S CAPTAIN by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 15, 2000

"Rich fun."
Thundering guns shiver the Atlantic to open the ninth Alan Lewrie British naval yarn (Jester's Fortune, 1999, etc.) set during the Napoleonic Wars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JESTER'S FORTUNE by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1999

"All the Lambdin hallmarks—adventure, politics, betrayal, and courage—are here, and it doesn—t give the game away to say that Lewrie manages to carry the day as usual, but not without leaving enough fight in the French to generate another book or two."
Prepare to come about! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S MARAUDER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Great fun on every page, and with more over the horizon."
Another rollicking Lewrie adventure of iron men in wooden ships from Lambdin (Hostile Shores, 2013, etc.) Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROUBLED WATERS by Dewey Lambdin
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Excellent amusement—Georgette Heyer for the gents."
A bothersome death sentence interrupts the adventures of dashing Georgian naval hero Alan Lewrie, but not for long. Action resumes in the Bay of Biscay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUN KETCH by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 23, 1993

"Lewrie has not completely reformed."
Alan Lewrie, the amiable rakehell who sailed through The King's Coat, the King's Commission, and The King's Privateer, is back with his own command, a lovely ketch, and—what's this?—a wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S PRIVATEER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 29, 1992

"Irresistible."
Lambdin's lusty Royal Naval Lieutenant Alan Lewrie (The King's Commission, 1991, etc.) sails for the East Indies, where French privateers have dared to tamper with the profits of Britain's opium trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAPTAIN’S VENGEANCE by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"Every bit as atmospheric and addictive as its predecessors."
Twelfth Alan Lewrie adventure (Havoc's Sword, 2003, etc.), this time about a quest for pirates that leads to the fathomless wildernesses of Louisiana. Read full book review >