Search Results: "Dewey Lambdin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE INVASION YEAR by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"A pleasant blend of light humor, drama and cracking historical naval action—another solid entry in the series."
Lambdin's rough-but-lovable rascal Captain Alan Lewrie (King, Ship, and Sword, 2010, etc.) returns for a 17th installment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOSTILE SHORES by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"More of the same: great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forrester."
The further nautical adventures of Lambdin's (Reefs and Shoals, 2012, etc.) Capt. Sir Alan Lewrie, baronet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

H.M.S. COCKEREL by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 25, 1995

"Great fun for the amateur military historianwith the whole of the Napoleonic Wars still to come."
Reluctant British naval officer Alan Lewrie (The Gun Ketch, 1993, etc.) assists in the defense of Toulon at the beginning of England's war with revolutionary France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 26, 2008

"Intimate portrait of a place snugly set within its historical moment, preserved in Myron's understated, well-polished prose."
An abandoned kitten serves as balm, comic relief and social director to a hard-pressed Midwestern town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S MARAUDER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Great fun on every page, and with more over the horizon."
Another rollicking Lewrie adventure of iron men in wooden ships from Lambdin (Hostile Shores, 2013, etc.) Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROUBLED WATERS by Dewey Lambdin
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Excellent amusement—Georgette Heyer for the gents."
A bothersome death sentence interrupts the adventures of dashing Georgian naval hero Alan Lewrie, but not for long. Action resumes in the Bay of Biscay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUN KETCH by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 23, 1993

"Lewrie has not completely reformed."
Alan Lewrie, the amiable rakehell who sailed through The King's Coat, the King's Commission, and The King's Privateer, is back with his own command, a lovely ketch, and—what's this?—a wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S PRIVATEER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 29, 1992

"Irresistible."
Lambdin's lusty Royal Naval Lieutenant Alan Lewrie (The King's Commission, 1991, etc.) sails for the East Indies, where French privateers have dared to tamper with the profits of Britain's opium trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAPTAIN’S VENGEANCE by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"Every bit as atmospheric and addictive as its predecessors."
Twelfth Alan Lewrie adventure (Havoc's Sword, 2003, etc.), this time about a quest for pirates that leads to the fathomless wildernesses of Louisiana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAVOC’S SWORD by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 12, 2003

The brilliantly stylish American master of salty-tongued British naval tales set in the time of Nelson and Napoleon presents his 11th in the Alan Lewrie series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEA OF GREY by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 18, 2002

"Sizzlingly tropical and stuffed to the beams with salty parlance."
Brilliantly styled tenth entry in the Alan Lewrie British naval series, set in the Napoleonic era (King's Captain, 2000) and written by an American. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A KING'S COMMANDER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 24, 1997

"Another rowdy cruise for the immensely appealing Lewrie, with almost two decades to go in the Anglo-French belligerency."
Scapegrace British naval officer Alan Lewrie (H.M.S. Cockerel, 1995, etc.) sails into troubled waters during the third year of England's war with revolutionary France. Read full book review >