Search Results: "Diane Light"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 4, 1998

"Decorated by a glamorous roster of friends and acquaintances (from Andy Warhol to Queen Elizabeth II), this biography is direct and unpretentious, but essentially insubstantial—much like the wrap dress. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen) (Author tour)"
Build a better dress and they will come: this is the theme of this celebrity autobiography by designer/jet setter Von Furstenberg. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 23, 2011

"Fans of Eckhart Tolle, Pia Mellody and Deepak Chopra will enjoy this unique and powerful book."
Psychotherapist and life coach Light explores psychology and spirituality in her debut self-help title, offering a new model for personal change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIANE ARBUS by Arthur Lubow
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 7, 2016

"Despite limitations on research, Lubow sharply captures Arbus' restlessness, pain, and artistic vision."
Photographer Diane Arbus (1923-1971) was addicted to danger, sex, and human oddities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 14, 2012

"Tooth fairy and Tinkerbell fans will enjoy learning more about this breed of magical creature."
Fairies flit between heaven and Earth invisibly spreading love and all that is good to imaginative children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Michael Grant
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 2, 2013

"A bloody, action-packed reward for the series' loyal fans. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
With the world outside the FAYZ in sight and stakes rising, characters take drastic actions for survival and redemption. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Light by Paul Dale Anderson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 2015

"Renders spirits and the preternatural realm as tangible scenes of action and intensity."
The ghost of a murdered U.S. Army Ranger plans to thwart a plot to assassinate world leaders in Anderson's (Pinking Shears, 2015, etc.) supernatural thriller.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Margaret Elphinstone
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"Another bold step forward for a 'traditional' writer who seldom fails to make the long-ago and faraway seem as near as the matter of our own everyday lives."
The conventional theme of an unspoiled paradise threatened by progress is treated with keen intelligence in the Scottish author's ninth novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by M. John Harrison
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 7, 2004

"A profoundly thoughtful, complex, fascinating, and sometimes bewildering mosaic. Does it all add up? Well, objectively speaking, not altogether—and perhaps that's the point. It was worth the wait since Harrison's last (Signs of Life, 1997)."
Harrison's new SF yarn—quantum space opera? science fiction serial-murder mystery? pyrotechnically paranoid projected physics?—arrives two years after its original British publication. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Sarah Waldman
NONFICTION
Released: June 1, 1993

"A joyous use of contemporary graphics to retell the first story. (Picture book. 3+)"
The illustrator's daughter, 13, stays close to the text as it appears in Genesis, varying repetitions a bit (``It was all very good'') and ad-libbing some embellishments (``the softer light of the moon would shine through the nights, with the help of twinkling stars''); she also adds a ``Storyteller's Note'' on the creation story as a reminder ``to take care of our beautiful planet.'' The text, white on black in an elegant face, makes a stylish foil for art in luminous stained-glass hues, artfully composed of mosaic-like passages of dabs of color, larger areas in solid tones, decorative grace notes, and stylized figures- -e.g., an extraordinary portrait of Adam and Eve, where Waldman's freewheelingly unrealistic use of brilliant color is particularly striking. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Donald  Crews
Released: Feb. 9, 1981

"All have an immediate impact, but the best are not immediately exhausted."
Though this hasn't the excitement, the page-to-page motion, or the vibrant originality of Freight Train, Trucks, and Rain, Crews' projection of city and country night scenes has its own rhythm and mood as a picture-poem on the theme of lights at night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Bruce Watson
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"An ingenious combination of science and art history."
The usual popular-science history of light begins with the ancient Greeks and peters out soon after Einstein, but this fine account by Smithsonian contributing writer Watson (Freedom Summer: The Savage Season of 1964 that Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy, 2010, etc.) paints with a broader brush.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIGHT by Jane Breskin Zalben
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Special and inspiring for all cultures. (Picture book. 5-12)"
According to an old Kabbalah legend, when God made the world, "he wanted to paint everything with a special kind of light so the world would shine with goodness." Read full book review >