Search Results: "Diane Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PHOTOCOPIES by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 16, 1996

"With so clear a focus on death and detachment, it's hard not to see this collection as a sort of letting go—though not, one hopes, a cap on the career of so keen an observer and grandly gifted a writer."
Featherlight touches and resonant phrasing have been Berger's stock in trade through his extensive career as novelist and critic (To the Wedding, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CORKER'S FREEDOM by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 1993

"An intermittently perceptive novel, then, that lacks the economy of Berger's later fiction."
How do we process experience? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROM A TO X by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2008

"Berger's writing comes off as equal parts somber and exalted."
A novel comprised of a series of letters allegedly "recuperated" by Berger (Hold Everything Dear, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TO THE WEDDING by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1995

"While the tragedy of AIDS has spawned many poignant works in the last decade, few have achieved the level of emotional, psychological, and physical harmony found here."
British art critic and novelist Berger's (Corker's Freedom, 1993, etc.) poetic sensibilities, already acute, are heightened here magnificently in a wrenching tale of young lovers whose future is poisoned by AIDS but who nevertheless seize the present, making their wedding a fulfilling, time-transcendent event. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE IS WHERE WE MEET by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2005

"Berger also treats us to reflections on Borges (buried in Geneva), Rembrandt's Polish Rider, the Cro-Magnon and nights of innocent, unconsummated passion with a fellow art student as the bombs fell over wartime London. His endless curiosity restores the spirits."
Discrete scenes from a mellow, largely autobiographical journey through time and space. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 1, 1994

"Moreover, it's easily accessible to anyone who shares the author's exuberant respect for excellence and the sustaining wonders of scientific pursuit."
What kind of science programs produce Westinghouse winners? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHAPE OF A POCKET by John Berger
Released: Dec. 28, 2001

"Both insightful and obscure."
One-time Booker Prize-winner Berger (King, 1999, etc.) here pursues his other love: art and art criticism. Read full book review >