Search Results: "Dieter Helm"


BOOK REVIEW

HELM by Steven Gould
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 1, 1998

"A well-handled, often persuasive drama, but rather too cozy and predictable."
On Agatsu, many years later, Leland de Laal, youngest son of Guide Dulan de Laal of Noramland, climbs the Needle rock to prove he's no weakling, finds the Glass Helm (the last imprinter), and puts it on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 27, 2012

"An optimistically levelheaded book about actually dealing with global warming."
A serious attempt to address climate change: "why it matters, what causes [it], and who is responsible." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAN AT THE HELM by Nina Stibbe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 10, 2015

"Charming and bittersweet, with a very English flavor, this social comedy is distinguished by Stibbe's light touch and bright eye."
Divorce leaves an unreliable mother and her three concerned children adrift in an unfriendly village in this first novel from Stibbe, whose memoir (Love, Nina, 2014) was an acclaimed comic debut.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Think about buying something else. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little boy named Kit and his dachshund Willy are the narrators of this seriously flawed British import written in the style of a child's illustrated school report about dogs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE by Dieter Wiesmüller
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2003

"At the very end, the text accompanying a human eye gently brings home the worthy message, 'You walk through the world, master of all you see, but don't be blind to the bounty around you.' (Picture book. 4-8)"
This fresh approach to giving children an appreciation for the natural world is beautifully illustrated in transparent and opaque tempera paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAURY AND THE NIGHTPIRATES by Dieter Wiesmüller
Released: Oct. 15, 1990

In a dream adventure, a boy voyages through the air in a ship with a girl, a rat, and a parrot to trick pirates of their stolen treasure: books of pirate lore and stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESS WITH ME by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A classic small-town contemporary romance with extra angst, perfect for fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis."
Two emotionally scarred people find each other and heal themselves in the Colorado Rockies Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 22, 2006

"Fans of Len Deighton—and, of course, Fleming—will value this as much as will students of intelligence and counterintelligence."
Engaging life of the spymistress reputed to have been the model for Ian Fleming's Miss Moneypenny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WANT YOU MORE  by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"An intimate, rewarding romance with a hot hero whose emotional growth is as sexy as his moves in the bedroom."
She leads with emotion, he runs from it. Two mountain guides wonder if they can repair the friendship that was shattered seven years ago by unrequited love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER JAMES by Michael  Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A novel that seems to aspire to a consciously literary emulation of William Gibson but struggles with upsetting passivity."
Helm (Cities of Refuge, 2010, etc.) creates a claustrophobic atmosphere of surreal unease and technology-fueled horror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 31, 2015

"Not just another tale of concentration camp terrors, Helm delivers a gripping story of the women who outlasted them and had the strength to share with the author and us 60 years later."
Just when you thought you knew all about the Holocaust camps, Helm (A Life in Secrets: Vera Atkins and the Missing Agents of WWII, 2006) chronicles the history of this much-ignored site for women.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BREED APART by Mike Helm
NON-FICTION
Released: May 21, 1991

"A sure thing for novices, but there's enough intelligently presented information and inside dope to attract even the most jaded track veteran."
A dandy, in-depth look at the Sport of Kings, the $10- billion-a-year horse-racing business, and the ``weekend recreational gamblers,'' jockeys, trainers, grooms, and officials who work on the ``backside,'' behind the scenes. Read full book review >