Search Results: "Dieter Helm"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 27, 2012

"An optimistically levelheaded book about actually dealing with global warming."
A serious attempt to address climate change: "why it matters, what causes [it], and who is responsible." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Think about buying something else. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little boy named Kit and his dachshund Willy are the narrators of this seriously flawed British import written in the style of a child's illustrated school report about dogs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BREED APART by Mike Helm
NON-FICTION
Released: May 21, 1991

"A sure thing for novices, but there's enough intelligently presented information and inside dope to attract even the most jaded track veteran."
A dandy, in-depth look at the Sport of Kings, the $10- billion-a-year horse-racing business, and the ``weekend recreational gamblers,'' jockeys, trainers, grooms, and officials who work on the ``backside,'' behind the scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 31, 2015

"Not just another tale of concentration camp terrors, Helm delivers a gripping story of the women who outlasted them and had the strength to share with the author and us 60 years later."
Just when you thought you knew all about the Holocaust camps, Helm (A Life in Secrets: Vera Atkins and the Missing Agents of WWII, 2006) chronicles the history of this much-ignored site for women.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESS WITH ME by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A classic small-town contemporary romance with extra angst, perfect for fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis."
Two emotionally scarred people find each other and heal themselves in the Colorado Rockies Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 22, 2006

"Fans of Len Deighton—and, of course, Fleming—will value this as much as will students of intelligence and counterintelligence."
Engaging life of the spymistress reputed to have been the model for Ian Fleming's Miss Moneypenny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE by Dieter Wiesmüller
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2003

"At the very end, the text accompanying a human eye gently brings home the worthy message, 'You walk through the world, master of all you see, but don't be blind to the bounty around you.' (Picture book. 4-8)"
This fresh approach to giving children an appreciation for the natural world is beautifully illustrated in transparent and opaque tempera paint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD ANIMALS OF THE SOUTH by Dieter Braun
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"An impressive display of wonders in the animal world, a treat for browsers. (Informational picture book. 5-12)"
This companion to Wild Animals of the North (2016) portrays 88 common and lesser-known wild animals native to the Southern Hemisphere. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAMMER SOUP by Ingrid Schubert
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2004

"Beautiful soup. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The Schuberts dish up a nourishing broth, using "Stone Soup" and "Grasshopper and the Ants" as main ingredients. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 31, 1999

"For everyone else, the book's closing credits, with lists of stylists, models, equipment, and acknowledgments, provide a refreshing peek into the mechanics behind the photographs. (Picture book. 8-12)"
One-upping the painted illustrations in Graeme Base's Discovery of Dragons (1996), these elaborately casual snapshots capture glimpses of 16 fairies observed in various leafy, far-flung locales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER JAMES by Michael  Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A novel that seems to aspire to a consciously literary emulation of William Gibson but struggles with upsetting passivity."
Helm (Cities of Refuge, 2010, etc.) creates a claustrophobic atmosphere of surreal unease and technology-fueled horror. Read full book review >