Search Results: "Don Bartlett"


BOOK REVIEW

NEMESIS by Jo Nesbø
Kirkus Star
by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"The high-intensity action is threaded through a series of Chinese boxes revealing one false solution after another before the brilliantly inventive final twist."
Oslo's favorite cowboy, Inspector Harry Hole, tackles the case of the serial bank robber with an itchy trigger finger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON GIOVANNA by Amanda Prantera
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"With little decoration and an easy touch, Prantera offers a charming, if limited, comedy of matured love and virtuous compromise."
Prantera (Letter to Lorenzo, 1999, etc.) gathers a middle-aged cast of characters to enact an amateur version of Mozart's well-known opera, touching with gentle humor on that work's themes of the heart's durable passion in competition with the mortal limits of body and time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 3, 2012

"Split between old and new, this translation seeks a niche audience."
This new translation of the beloved classic attempts to return to the roots of its earliest English translation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON HO: by Don with Jerry Hopkins Ho
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 27, 2007

"Don Ho lovers rejoice; this colorful coffee table book is everything readers could possibly want from an autobiography of this Hawaiian treasure."
Loa maika'i eluhelu e pili ana no Don Ho. (Possible grammar issues notwithstanding, that's Hawaiian for “A very good book about Don Ho.”) Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BARTLETT AND THE ICE VOYAGE by Odo Hirsch
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"Small, delicately detailed illustrations reflect the episode's light tone. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In this tongue-in-cheek quest tale, Hirsch (Antonio S and the Mystery of Theodore Guzman, 2001) suggests that imperious Queens and intrepid Explorers both might have a thing or two to learn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I REFUSE by Per Petterson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 7, 2015

"Without pyrotechnics, Petterson brings his characters and working-class Norway vividly, even passionately, to life; days after they finish the novel, readers may still have dreams of ice cracking."
Norwegian Petterson (It's Fine By Me, 2012, etc.) shows his considerable gift for exploring the darker crevices of boyhood in this elegiac story of two long-estranged friends whose lives have not turned out as they expected.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"Closer in tone to François Traffaut's Shoot the Piano Player or a Tom Waits song/story than an airport mystery novel."
One of Norway's most famous writers investigates a strange series of fires not by examining the ashes, but by looking in the mirror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEOPARD by Jo Nesbø
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Good for a nightmare or three—a taut, fast-paced thriller with wrenching twists and turns."
Another spooky gothic by Norwegian gloomster Nesbø (The Snowman, 2011, etc.), the poet laureate of boreal psychopathy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASHES IN MY MOUTH, SAND IN MY SHOES by Per Petterson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 7, 2015

"Arvid's is far from an unhappy childhood, but writing within a child's limited vision, Petterson uses what's unspoken to wrench the reader's heart."
Readers of Petterson's award-winning Out Stealing Horses (2007) will find this translation of the Norwegian author's first published book, scheduled to appear in conjunction with his latest novel, I Refuse, takes a gentler approach to childhood.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCKROACHES by Jo Nesbø
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Perhaps the most original touch in this early, well-wrought adventure is the most depressing: Despite Bangkok's well-earned reputation for moral and official corruption, the most repulsive cockroaches Harry finds are consistently Norwegians."
Following the debut (The Bat, 2013) that took Harry Hole to Australia, this second case (originally published in 1998) takes Harry to Bangkok, filling the final gap in the Norwegian cop's 10 best-selling adventures to date (Police, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >