Search Results: "Don Bartlett"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BAT by Jo Nesbø
by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 2, 2013

"Harry is already every bit as volcanic as in his later cases. The big difference is Australia, which Nesbø, seeing it through the eyes of both a tourist and a cultural pathologist, makes you wonder how much different it is from Norway after all."
Inspector Harry Hole's 1997 debut finally follows its seven successors into English translation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT'S FINE BY ME by Per Petterson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Will Audun ever break free of his father's legacy? Petterson leaves that key question hanging and the reader unsatisfied."
Coming-of-age in 1960s Norway; the fifth novel from the Norwegian native, best known for Out Stealing Horses (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCKROACHES by Jo Nesbø
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Perhaps the most original touch in this early, well-wrought adventure is the most depressing: Despite Bangkok's well-earned reputation for moral and official corruption, the most repulsive cockroaches Harry finds are consistently Norwegians."
Following the debut (The Bat, 2013) that took Harry Hole to Australia, this second case (originally published in 1998) takes Harry to Bangkok, filling the final gap in the Norwegian cop's 10 best-selling adventures to date (Police, 2013, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASHES IN MY MOUTH, SAND IN MY SHOES by Per Petterson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 7, 2015

"Arvid's is far from an unhappy childhood, but writing within a child's limited vision, Petterson uses what's unspoken to wrench the reader's heart."
Readers of Petterson's award-winning Out Stealing Horses (2007) will find this translation of the Norwegian author's first published book, scheduled to appear in conjunction with his latest novel, I Refuse, takes a gentler approach to childhood.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POLICE by Jo Nesbø
Kirkus Star
by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"A surprise ending promises a fresh start for a series that had appeared to end with its previous novel."
Having upped the ante with the previous novel in the Harry Hole series, the author goes for broke here. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"Closer in tone to François Traffaut's Shoot the Piano Player or a Tom Waits song/story than an airport mystery novel."
One of Norway's most famous writers investigates a strange series of fires not by examining the ashes, but by looking in the mirror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY STRUGGLE by Karl Ove Knausgaard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 19, 2016

"An admirably seriocomic look at a headlong leap into maturity."
In which our author, never at a loss for words, spends his 20s figuring out how to use the right ones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY STRUGGLE by Karl Ove Knausgaard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2014

"A simple and surprising effort to capture everyday life that rewards the time given to it."
A Norwegian novelist plumbs his interior life, particularly his troubled relationship with his late father, in this curiously affecting opening to a multipart epic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY STRUGGLE by Karl Ove Knausgaard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 28, 2015

"An entertaining portrait of the artist as a young lout."
The narrator of the six-volume memoir-novel confronts his late teens, in which he defies his father by behaving much like him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY STRUGGLE by Karl Ove Knausgaard
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 27, 2014

"Halfway through, this series is starting to look like an early-21st-century masterpiece."
The narrator of the third volume of Knausgaard's epic of the everyday recalls the frustrations and curious joys of boyhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNA’S HEAVEN by Stian Hole
Kirkus Star
by Stian Hole, illustrated by Stian Hole, translated by Don Bartlett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2014

"Deeply affecting. (Picture book. 8-11, adult)"
Hole once again tackles the hard issues in children's literature, this time grief, with his now-signature blend of beautiful, thoughtful and quirky images (Garmann's Secret, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BORDERS by Roy Jacobsen
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"An artful deconstruction of nationalism through the prism of personal loss and reconciliation. Read Jacobsen's novel carefully to savor its images and themes."
In the immediate aftermath of World War II, a son named Robert is born to Maria, a Belgian teacher and nurse, in the Ardennes, a borderland region spanning Belgium, Luxembourg, France, and Germany. Read full book review >