Search Results: "Donald Dewey"


BOOK REVIEW

MARCELLO MASTROIANNI by Donald Dewey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 1993

"Overall, though, a generally well-told life. (Photos)"
Flawed but still head-and-shoulders above most film bios, a life of the Italian actor that focuses largely on his art but that soft-peddles the nitty-gritty of everyday life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REASONABLE DOUBTS by Donald Dewey
Released: Oct. 21, 1991

"Not deep enough for the psychological crowd, but may find its niche among the nitty-gritty police-procedural readers."
A slice-of-five-lives—all of which converge in a Queens courthouse—features: inept, small-time crook Manuel Torres, who's planning an escape; the lawyer assigned to Torres—Elena Alvarez, who's still quaking with guilt over the prison-death of former client Ed Winters; cancer-stricken retired teacher Charles Allison, who's about to be empaneled on the Torres jury; courthouse guard John King, who's close to a homicidal breakdown; and elevator- operator Hobie Morgan, who's the imminent hero here. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMES STEWART by Donald Dewey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"A model of how to do a serious but entertaining Hollywood biography; Dewey never loses sight of the work, which is what makes Stewart important in the first place. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Biographer and novelist Dewey (Marcello Mastroianni, 1993; Reasonable Doubts, 1991) offers a voluminous, highly intelligent look at one of the richest and most complex of Hollywood star personas, not incidentally, one of the industry's most beloved actors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

H.M.S. COCKEREL by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 25, 1995

"Great fun for the amateur military historianwith the whole of the Napoleonic Wars still to come."
Reluctant British naval officer Alan Lewrie (The Gun Ketch, 1993, etc.) assists in the defense of Toulon at the beginning of England's war with revolutionary France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOSTILE SHORES by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"More of the same: great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forrester."
The further nautical adventures of Lambdin's (Reefs and Shoals, 2012, etc.) Capt. Sir Alan Lewrie, baronet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INVASION YEAR by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"A pleasant blend of light humor, drama and cracking historical naval action—another solid entry in the series."
Lambdin's rough-but-lovable rascal Captain Alan Lewrie (King, Ship, and Sword, 2010, etc.) returns for a 17th installment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GUN KETCH by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 23, 1993

"Lewrie has not completely reformed."
Alan Lewrie, the amiable rakehell who sailed through The King's Coat, the King's Commission, and The King's Privateer, is back with his own command, a lovely ketch, and—what's this?—a wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S PRIVATEER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 29, 1992

"Irresistible."
Lambdin's lusty Royal Naval Lieutenant Alan Lewrie (The King's Commission, 1991, etc.) sails for the East Indies, where French privateers have dared to tamper with the profits of Britain's opium trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROUBLED WATERS by Dewey Lambdin
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Excellent amusement—Georgette Heyer for the gents."
A bothersome death sentence interrupts the adventures of dashing Georgian naval hero Alan Lewrie, but not for long. Action resumes in the Bay of Biscay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KING'S MARAUDER by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Great fun on every page, and with more over the horizon."
Another rollicking Lewrie adventure of iron men in wooden ships from Lambdin (Hostile Shores, 2013, etc.) Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KING’S CAPTAIN by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 15, 2000

"Rich fun."
Thundering guns shiver the Atlantic to open the ninth Alan Lewrie British naval yarn (Jester's Fortune, 1999, etc.) set during the Napoleonic Wars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JESTER'S FORTUNE by Dewey Lambdin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1999

"All the Lambdin hallmarks—adventure, politics, betrayal, and courage—are here, and it doesn—t give the game away to say that Lewrie manages to carry the day as usual, but not without leaving enough fight in the French to generate another book or two."
Prepare to come about! Read full book review >