Search Results: "Douglas J. Wood"


BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENTIAL DECLARATIONS by Douglas J. Wood
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2015

"Readers who enjoyed Presidential Intentions won't be disappointed by this action-packed sequel."
A political thriller that explores the grim consequences of a cataclysmic terrorist attack on Washington, D.C. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

101 Things I Want to Say to My Daughter, Meghan, on Beginning College by Douglas J. Wood
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: June 24, 2013

"Endearingly written and easy to read, parents unsure about how to talk to their college-bound kids may find this slim, conventional book helpful."
Wood's (101 Things I Want to Say to My Son, Joshua, on Graduating College, 2013)latest is acollection of wisdom, warnings and reminders for young adults and their parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 10, 2013

"A balm to calm worried thoughts of the future and a love letter to traditional family values."
A benevolent father attempts to allay the confusion of his son's post-college life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENTIAL INTENTIONS by Douglas J. Wood
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

"An engaging, essential novel for readers who feel disenfranchised by the political process."
A promising young woman is undone by her political aspirations in Wood's (Please Be Ad-Vised, 2013) latest novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENTIAL CONCLUSIONS by Douglas J. Wood
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"A sharp tale of government and terrorism fortified by an exceptional POTUS protagonist."
Samantha "Sam" Harrison must lead the United States against coordinated nationwide terrorist strikes in this political thriller, the final installment of a trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Please Be Ad-vised: 7th Edition by Douglas J. Wood
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2014

"A well-written, comprehensive reference work for advertisers who want to understand the many laws that affect their profession."
The most recent edition of a guide to all aspects of law connected with the advertising profession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

101 Things I Want to Say to My Daughter, Andrea, on Beginning Her Career by Douglas J. Wood
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 9, 2013

"A welcome adjunct to the wealth of how-to parenting literature."
An affectionate advice and how-to manual for an adult child. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JUAN RULFO
by Richard Z. Santos

Douglas Weatherford, translator of the first English-language version of Juan Rulfo’s second novel The Golden Cockerel, knows that Rulfo isn’t a household name. And Weatherford thinks that’s a tragedy.

“It’s important for English speaking readers, especially in the U.S., to discover Juan Rulfo. For some unfortunate reason he never reached the same acclaim as Jorge Luis Borges, Isabel Allende ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NOUMENON
by Thea James

Noumenon

Noumenon by Marina J. Lostetter

On Sale: July 2017, ISBN-13: 9780062497840

nou·me·non

ˈno͞oməˌnän

noun
(in Kantian philosophy) a thing as it is in itself, as distinct from a thing as it is knowable by the senses through phenomenal attributes.

Imagine it is the future. Not the distant future, mind you, but a close enough world in which large scale ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

7 FANTASY BOOKS HEADING TO FILM AND TV
by John DeNardo

As readers, the idea of our favorite books being turned into film and television production frightens us and excites us. It's scary because so many things can go wrong that could result in – gasp! – an unfaithful adaptation. Yet that doesn't stop us from being excited because we get to re-experience the stories we love. Here are ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"This is a depiction of the spiritual that is without reference to a particular faith or tradition, and that doesn't lapse into greeting-card platitudes; Wood conveys a sense of something larger in the world, and gives voice to the human longing to understand. (Picture book. 6-10)"
Wood (Making the World, 1998, etc.) tackles the enormity of death and the meaning of prayer in a way that is both accessible and meaningful. Read full book review >