Search Results: "Drusilla Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN SHE CAME HOME by Drusilla Campbell
Released: April 9, 2013

"Ultimately, in this heart-wrenching tale, Frankie figures out what she must do to help herself and her family."
A novel that deals with a number of important social issues, including the actions of private contractors in war, the treatment of women in the armed services, domestic violence and school bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE GIRL GONE by Drusilla Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2012

"The novel sensitively portrays Madora's misplaced love and her awakening to the truth about Willis. Yet the denouement is rushed, leaving the reader wondering how discovering the truth led to finding justice."
When your luck runs out, who can help you pick up the pieces? Can you really trust that person? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 1, 1994

"No source notes. (Biography. 12+)"
An effective rags-to-riches biography of a chief's descendant who became a Democratic senator from Colorado after distinguishing himself as a judo teacher, deputy sheriff, and artisan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN NIGHTHORSE CAMPBELL by Herman J. Viola
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 1993

"Viola neither lionizes nor challenges Campbell's machismo—and this moral neutrality makes for a curiously old-fashioned biography, informative but ultimately unsatisfying. (Forty b&w photographs—not seen)"
An uncritical biography of the new US senator from Colorado, the only Native American serving in Congress. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE REAL, TRUE DULCIE CAMPBELL by Cynthia DeFelice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2002

"883) illustrations in summer colors do justice to the down-home aspects of the family farm and kitchen as well as Dulcie's silken-and-gilt royal musings and some pretty neat ogres. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A search for identity and a dose of reality come in a pleasing package. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 9, 1983

"Painstaking, thoughtful work, but largely tepid and drab."
A better-late-than-never continuation of the defunct New Voices series, which presented stories by Campbell award nominees (for "best new writer in science fiction"); these four originals and one reprint are by the 1977 nominees. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COURAGE OF CAT CAMPBELL by Natasha Lowe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A sweet choice for readers who prefer their fantasy thoughtful instead of action-packed. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
For years, Cat Campbell has dreamed of having magical powers like her great-great-grandmother Mabel and attending Ruthersfield Academy, "the only accredited school for magic in the country." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAKE LOVE THE BRUCE CAMPBELL WAY by Bruce Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2005

"Scratch the willing suspension of disbelief. But never mind: this is good fun, and lots of it. And besides, anyone who allows that Carrot Top's agent is Satan is all right."
A rollicking spoof by B-list actor Campbell, hero of the Evil Dead series, who attempts to rise above his station and wreaks havoc in the bargain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRAVINSKY’S LUNCH by Drusilla Modjeska
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2000

"Of interest to students of modernist art and of women's history."
A scholarly study of two obscure Australian painters, and not (as the title promises) of a Russian composer's diet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >