Search Results: "Drusilla Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN SHE CAME HOME by Drusilla Campbell
Released: April 9, 2013

"Ultimately, in this heart-wrenching tale, Frankie figures out what she must do to help herself and her family."
A novel that deals with a number of important social issues, including the actions of private contractors in war, the treatment of women in the armed services, domestic violence and school bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE GIRL GONE by Drusilla Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2012

"The novel sensitively portrays Madora's misplaced love and her awakening to the truth about Willis. Yet the denouement is rushed, leaving the reader wondering how discovering the truth led to finding justice."
When your luck runs out, who can help you pick up the pieces? Can you really trust that person? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRAVINSKY’S LUNCH by Drusilla Modjeska
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2000

"Of interest to students of modernist art and of women's history."
A scholarly study of two obscure Australian painters, and not (as the title promises) of a Russian composer's diet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STRUGGLES OF JOHNNY CANNON by Isaiah Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A sprawling, good-hearted adventure—pure fun. (Historical fiction. 8-12) "
In the sequel to The Troubles of Johnny Cannon (2014), Johnny Cannon's life in little Cullman, Alabama, is anything but peaceful. Read full book review >