Search Results: "Eça de Queirós"


BOOK REVIEW

THE YELLOW SOFA by Eça de Queirós
Released: Nov. 29, 1996

"A slight work given depth and resonance by the indisputable presence of literary genius."
A compact and vivid short novel, unpublished during his lifetime and previously untranslated into English, by the great Portuguese de Queir¢s (18431900) whose essential kinship with Balzac and Flaubert was not recognized until long after his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ILLUSTRIOUS HOUSE OF RAMIRES by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2017

"A touch long but with never a wasted word. Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages."
Late, reflective work by de Queirós (1845-1900), widely considered Portugal's greatest novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAIAS by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 30, 2007

"Slow-moving and elaborate, by modern tastes: but a founding work of modern Portuguese literature, hailed by José Saramago as a masterwork."
A 19th-century Portuguese epic is finally put into readable modern English, revealing a strange tale of decline and fall. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAGEDY OF THE STREET OF FLOWERS by Eça de Queiroz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2000

"A significant addition to a magnificent—and still inexplicably underrated—body of work."
A previously unpublished novel, not quite completed before the death of the great Portuguese realist (1845-1900), that appeared in Portugal in 1980, over the objections of Eça's heirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DE NIRO by Shawn Levy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"An impressive biography that will surely stand as the definitive De Niro volume."
The life and work of the legendary actor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DE GAULLE by Jean Lacouture
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1992

"A leisurely biography that stints on explaining how de Gaulle worked his imperious will, but scores in detailing his evolution as a symbol of national unity and as a geopolitical realist. (Photographs.)"
Lacouture follows up his De Gaulle: The Rebel, 1890-1944 (1990) with another admiring volume, tracing how the triumphant leader of the Free French consolidated his position as the colossus bestriding his country's political institutions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DE-EXTINCTION by Rebecca E. Hirsch
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2017

"A staid but intellectually stimulating excursion across one of modern biology's most promising, and controversial, frontiers. (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 11-15)"
"Extinction is essentially a one-way street. Or is it?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTRE-DAME DE PARIS by Alain Erlande-Brandenburg
NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 1998

"He also devotes considerable space to a discussion of the nature of the magnificent sculptures of saints, sinners, and demons added to the exterior of the cathedral, and its stained-glass windows. (262 illustrations, including 138 in color)"
While art historian Erlande-Brandenburg's careful, vigorous study of the construction of one of the greatest medieval cathedrals and of the symbolic intentions of its architecture, sculpture, and stained glass, does not break new ground, it does offer a clear, useful review of Notre Dame's long history and importance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BANCO DE ALABAMA by John M Sloke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 12, 2016

"A sharp mystery with a bevy of complicated characters and puzzle pieces."
A private investigator trying to prove the innocence of a woman charged with murder in Mobile, Alabama, finds himself unwittingly caught in a conspiracy leading to further deaths in Sloke's (Sam and the O'Malley Brothers, 2013) thriller.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAIRE DE LUNE by Christine Johnson
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: May 18, 2010

"Claire is a sympathetic character, though her love interest seems too idealized and one-dimensional and the conclusion entirely too tidy—in the end, there is not much to set apart this reworking of a familiar idea. (Supernatural romance. 12 & up)"
An enjoyable if forgettable supernatural romance, this debut novel will be appreciated by teens who can't get enough of the genre. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CATHERINE DE MEDICI by Leonie Frieda
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 21, 2005

"Persuasive rehabilitation of Catherine, not as a nice woman, but as a shrewd leader who did what she had to."
Scholarly but lively biography of the Italian-born queen who ruled France as regent during 30 years of bitter religious warfare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIO DE JANEIRO by Ruy Castro
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Fantastically successful travel propaganda."
An achingly seductive love letter to Brazil's most famous city. Read full book review >