Search Results: "Eça de Queirós"


BOOK REVIEW

THE YELLOW SOFA by Eça de Queirós
Released: Nov. 29, 1996

"A slight work given depth and resonance by the indisputable presence of literary genius."
A compact and vivid short novel, unpublished during his lifetime and previously untranslated into English, by the great Portuguese de Queir¢s (18431900) whose essential kinship with Balzac and Flaubert was not recognized until long after his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ILLUSTRIOUS HOUSE OF RAMIRES by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2017

"A touch long but with never a wasted word. Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages."
Late, reflective work by de Queirós (1845-1900), widely considered Portugal's greatest novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAIAS by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 30, 2007

"Slow-moving and elaborate, by modern tastes: but a founding work of modern Portuguese literature, hailed by José Saramago as a masterwork."
A 19th-century Portuguese epic is finally put into readable modern English, revealing a strange tale of decline and fall. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAGEDY OF THE STREET OF FLOWERS by Eça de Queiroz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2000

"A significant addition to a magnificent—and still inexplicably underrated—body of work."
A previously unpublished novel, not quite completed before the death of the great Portuguese realist (1845-1900), that appeared in Portugal in 1980, over the objections of Eça's heirs. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHRISTOPHER DE HAMEL
by Brianna Jewell

“Stick your nose into other people’s business and it’s considered rude,” Christopher de Hamel says, “but stick your nose far enough back and it’s considered history.” In his latest book, Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts: Twelve Journeys into the Medieval World, de Hamel turns what he sees as the voyeuristic pleasure of discovering secrets about others’ lives into historical ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BABAR ON PARADISE ISLAND by Laurent de Brunhoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Familiarity here breeds contentment. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Shipwrecked pachyderms find many pleasures and surprises on a tropical island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE WITH FIVE HEADS by Barbara de Wolf
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 17, 2011

"Good-humored fun, driven by an innately hilarious premise (well, to children anyway) and well-designed, inventive special features. (iPad storybook app. 6-8)"
A prince who keeps losing his interchangeable heads annoys his royal mother no end in this droll original tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINNER FOR EIGHT by Roger De Muth
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"But there's no denying that the lift-the-flap design always delights young would-be readers, and De Muth goes the extra mile with humorous surprises under each flap. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Many hands make a luscious international feast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE PITTS, ARTICHOKE by Diane de Groat
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 1992

"Good fun. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Stagestruck Annie sees an opportunity for breaking into show biz almost everywhere she looks—even in the dairy section of the supermarket that her third-grade class visits on a field trip- -which is why she ends up dropping yogurt on the floor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NUGGET ON TOP OF THE WORLD by Hans de Beer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"While there is a nugget of appeal in the illustrations of the endearing puppy, this effort falls short in its intended thematic journey. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In this Swiss import, a young dachshund puppy named Nugget explores the world outside his home, comparing his own small stature with larger animals and structures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER AND THE SEAL by Rick de Haas
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Ultimately, de Haas misses a great story—a boy with his own submarine!—while the story he does tell about a seal sinks. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Peter and Leo's second adventure requires several suspensions of belief that most readers will be incapable of managing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE POLAR BEAR AND THE SUBMARINE by Hans de Beer
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"As a rudimentary introduction to friendship and environmental issues, if not geography, Lars can still create the mood. (Picture book. 3-6)"
De Beer's little polar bear, who debuted some 25 years ago, returns in a tale that combines familiar friendship problems with up-to-date concerns. Read full book review >