Search Results: "Eça de Queirós"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ILLUSTRIOUS HOUSE OF RAMIRES by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2017

"A touch long but with never a wasted word. Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages."
Late, reflective work by de Queirós (1845-1900), widely considered Portugal's greatest novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YELLOW SOFA by Eça de Queirós
Released: Nov. 29, 1996

"A slight work given depth and resonance by the indisputable presence of literary genius."
A compact and vivid short novel, unpublished during his lifetime and previously untranslated into English, by the great Portuguese de Queir¢s (18431900) whose essential kinship with Balzac and Flaubert was not recognized until long after his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAIAS by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 30, 2007

"Slow-moving and elaborate, by modern tastes: but a founding work of modern Portuguese literature, hailed by José Saramago as a masterwork."
A 19th-century Portuguese epic is finally put into readable modern English, revealing a strange tale of decline and fall. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAGEDY OF THE STREET OF FLOWERS by Eça de Queiroz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2000

"A significant addition to a magnificent—and still inexplicably underrated—body of work."
A previously unpublished novel, not quite completed before the death of the great Portuguese realist (1845-1900), that appeared in Portugal in 1980, over the objections of Eça's heirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABAR ON PARADISE ISLAND by Laurent de Brunhoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Familiarity here breeds contentment. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Shipwrecked pachyderms find many pleasures and surprises on a tropical island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCE WITH FIVE HEADS by Barbara de Wolf
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 17, 2011

"Good-humored fun, driven by an innately hilarious premise (well, to children anyway) and well-designed, inventive special features. (iPad storybook app. 6-8)"
A prince who keeps losing his interchangeable heads annoys his royal mother no end in this droll original tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINNER FOR EIGHT by Roger De Muth
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"But there's no denying that the lift-the-flap design always delights young would-be readers, and De Muth goes the extra mile with humorous surprises under each flap. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Many hands make a luscious international feast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE PITTS, ARTICHOKE by Diane de Groat
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 1992

"Good fun. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Stagestruck Annie sees an opportunity for breaking into show biz almost everywhere she looks—even in the dairy section of the supermarket that her third-grade class visits on a field trip- -which is why she ends up dropping yogurt on the floor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE KISSES by Camilla de la Bédoyère
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2015

"Unfortunately, the Hallmark sentiments in the primary text make this book feel generic and just transitorily cute. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Fifteen examples of animal affection, which looks not so different than the human kind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ISLE OF THE LOST by Melissa de la Cruz
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A paint-by-numbers effort to market a spinoff that's likely to be equally ephemeral. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
In a prequel to an upcoming Disney Channel film, the offspring of four familiar villains bond in an effort to impress their evil parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CURSE OF THE ANCIENTS by Matt de la Peña
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 4, 2013

"Fans of the series will already be hooked, but even more skeptical readers may be a little curious what happens next. (Science fiction. 8-12)"
Armageddon isn't all bad. Read full book review >