Search Results: "Eça de Queiroz"


BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAGEDY OF THE STREET OF FLOWERS by Eça de Queiroz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2000

"A significant addition to a magnificent—and still inexplicably underrated—body of work."
A previously unpublished novel, not quite completed before the death of the great Portuguese realist (1845-1900), that appeared in Portugal in 1980, over the objections of Eça's heirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YELLOW SOFA by Eça de Queirós
Released: Nov. 29, 1996

"A slight work given depth and resonance by the indisputable presence of literary genius."
A compact and vivid short novel, unpublished during his lifetime and previously untranslated into English, by the great Portuguese de Queir¢s (18431900) whose essential kinship with Balzac and Flaubert was not recognized until long after his death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MONKEY'S VOYAGE by Alan de Queiroz
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"An intriguing window into the ongoing academic debate about evolution."
An evolutionary biologist disputes the hegemonic theory of how animals have populated the planet, challenging prevailing assumptions about the time frame in which species separations necessarily occurred. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ILLUSTRIOUS HOUSE OF RAMIRES by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2017

"A touch long but with never a wasted word. Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages."
Late, reflective work by de Queirós (1845-1900), widely considered Portugal's greatest novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAIAS by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 30, 2007

"Slow-moving and elaborate, by modern tastes: but a founding work of modern Portuguese literature, hailed by José Saramago as a masterwork."
A 19th-century Portuguese epic is finally put into readable modern English, revealing a strange tale of decline and fall. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHRISTOPHER DE HAMEL
by Brianna Jewell

“Stick your nose into other people’s business and it’s considered rude,” Christopher de Hamel says, “but stick your nose far enough back and it’s considered history.” In his latest book, Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts: Twelve Journeys into the Medieval World, de Hamel turns what he sees as the voyeuristic pleasure of discovering secrets about others’ lives into historical ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NUT AND BOLT by Nicole de Cock
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Not since The Giving Tree has self-sacrifice been so celebrated. (Picture book. 3-5) "
Nut, a mouse, and Bolt, a donkey, enjoy a beautiful friendship. Kind of. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAKE by Dorothée de Monfreid
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"There's no moral to this story, just irreverent fun. (Picture book. 3-5)"
When a tiger wants to make a cake, he and his friends fight over its ingredients with humorous (if naughty) results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABAR AND THE NEW BABY by Laurent de Brunhoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A starter set for grown-up Babar fans who want to introduce the classic characters to their children. (Board book. 2-4)"
A simplified and condensed version of Babar's Little Girl (1987), starring Princess Isabelle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNE PITTS, SWAMP MONSTER by Diane de Groat
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 1994

A slapstick account of Annie's experiences as star of a high school student's horror video. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZOOMERS' HANDBOOK by Ana de Moraes
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A near miss. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Caretakers of invented animals need special instructions and great imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABAR ON PARADISE ISLAND by Laurent de Brunhoff
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"Familiarity here breeds contentment. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Shipwrecked pachyderms find many pleasures and surprises on a tropical island. Read full book review >