Search Results: "E-mersiv"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WAR OF THE WORLDS by H.G. Wells
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: June 14, 2012

"It's as if Orson Welles had gotten hold of an iPad. Though some fixes remain to be done, a top-notch production."
The tale that scared America silly in 1938, courtesy of Orson Welles, returns in a well-made app that would do a Martian invader proud. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHOOSING YOUR OWN PATH
by Leila Roy

Everyone wants something different from me. It’s like one second, I should be a better dude. I should stop being such a girly douche, and I should just man up. Then, it’s the opposite: I’m too much of a guy, and it’s not right. I should be a girl, because that’s what I’m supposed to be.

The thing is, I’m ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"This thriller from the author of We Were Liars (2014) will challenge preconceptions about identity and keep readers guessing. (Suspense. 12-adult)"
Can Jule recognize her own true self within the tangled story of the past year? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONSCIENCE PUDDING by E. Nesbit
Released: Oct. 21, 1970

"A plum, pictured in the spirit of the period, and a sampling of Nesbit's rare goodness."
Done up in a merrie olde-time-Christmas jacket is the story of the Bastables and that most unpalatable of holiday puddings — O.E. and Alice "went and begged for money for poor children, and then kept it!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARADOX by E. Magill
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY

"Dense and sometimes confusing but offers red meat to technical sci-fi lovers."
In this sci-fi novel, humankind is on the verge of extinction and a secret time-travel mission may hold answers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GEEK FANTASY NOVEL by E.  Archer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"The self-conscious metafictional folderol is likely to lose more readers than it gains, but Archer (pseudonym for YA suspense novelist Eliot Schrefer) creates engaging characters and telling throwaway lines and ultimately wrestles the family conflict at the core of this into a sort of resolution. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
What are the chances that a granted wish will go off without a hitch—particularly when both the Fairy Godmother and the Narrator are ham-handed bumblers? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAL LIVE BOYFRIENDS by E. Lockhart
FICTION
Released: Dec. 28, 2010

"Like, really recommended. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
The chronicle of the irrepressible Ruby Oliver continues in this fourth installment of her coming-of-age struggles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG AGO WHEN I WAS YOUNG by E. Nesbit
Released: Oct. 1, 1966

"Neither bitter nor sentimental, her own memories illuminate her early years better than Anthea Bell's Walck monograph, the most recent of the studies of Nesbit."
Of particular interest to specialists in children's literature, this book, which is not without interest, really, hasn't much hope of gaining an audience beyond that small market. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAMARAMA by E. Lockhart
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2007

"Exhilarating. (Fiction. YA)"
A star-struck girl plunges into the crazed world of summer drama camp and tries to cope with friends, love and jealousy in this intense romp through the world of musical theater. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLY ON THE WALL by E. Lockhart
ANIMALS
Released: March 14, 2006

"Fine fun for fans of both Kafka and Spiderman. (Fiction. YA)"
While many kids may feel ignored and invisible, Gretchen actually becomes a fly and spends her insect life in the locker room of the boys' gym. Read full book review >